Saturday, November 1, 2025
HomeMTN8Did Mabasa Handle The Ball For Pirates' Goal? Hlungwani Responds

Did Mabasa Handle The Ball For Pirates’ Goal? Hlungwani Responds

Referee Eugene Mdluli made the correct call to not penalize Tshegofatso Mabasa in his assist to Kamogelo Sebelebele for Orlando Pirates‘ equaliser, according to former FIFA official Victor Hlungwani.

Mamelodi Sundowns goalkeeper Ronwen Williams as well as a certain section of the Masandawana faithful felt that Mabasa used his hand to assist Sebelebele who slotted into the empty net to make it 1-1 in their MTN8 semifinal 2nd leg tie.

‘The Principal’ has since dissected the incident and applauded Mdluli for not succumbing under the pressure but rather staying calm and correctly awarding the goal to Pirates.

“Mabasa is alleged to have handled the ball,” Hlungwani said on Soccerzone.

“When the ball is handled as Mabasa is moving his hand, the ball would’ve changed direction.

“If you look at it, the ball never changed direction. So, how will the ref say it was a handball? He can’t because it never changed direction.

Image: Soccerzone

“So, the referee was correct in allowing a goal because there’s no evidence of handball as the ball did not change direction.

“Correct decision by the referee to award the goal.”

Did you know that the iDiski Times Digital Newspaper is completely free! Download it now by clicking the button below or fill in the form to have it sent to you every week.

Free iDiski Times E-Paper
Want the iDiski Times Digital Newspaper delivered to you for free? Input your email address to get it sent to you weekly on email, or input your number to get it sent via WhatsApp.
Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.
Name
Pick Your Platform
TRENDING

RELATED ARTICLES