Friday, February 23, 2024
HomeAfrica Cup Of NationsBafana Starting XI Announced

Bafana Starting XI Announced

Bafana Bafana coach Hugo Broos has named his starting XI for their opening AFCON Group E game against Mali.

It will be Broos’ first match at an AFCON since the 2017 final, when he won the competition with Cameroon.

This will be the third time South Africa and Mali meet at an AFCON, however, both previous games were in the knockout rounds.

In 2002 Mali won 2-1 in the quarter-finals, while in 2013, they won a penalty shootout after a 1-1 draw, once again in the last eight.

Their only other and more recent meeting was in a friendly in 2019, where Bafana won 2-1 in Gqeberha under previous coach Molefi Ntseki.

This is how they line up:

Bafana Bafana XI: Williams, Mudau, Xulu, Mvala, Modiba, Sithole, Mokoena, Maseko, Zwane, Tau, Makgopa

Subs: Mothwa, Goss, Mobbie, Mashego, Appollis, Adams, Monare, Lepasa, Kekana, Sibisi, Mayambela, Morena, Xoki

Mali XI: Djigui, Sacko, Niakate, Kouyate, Traore, Dieng, Haidara, Doumbia, Bissouma, Kosta, Sinayoko

iDiski Times
iDiski Times
iDiski Times is one of the fastest-growing football brands in South Africa. Boasting a free weekly newspaper as well as a 24/7 news website with top breaking news in the PSL (DStv Premiership, Motsepe Foundation Championship), women's football and all other major tournaments in South Africa and abroad.