Wednesday, June 12, 2024
HomeAfrican Football2023 CAF Award Winners Revealed

2023 CAF Award Winners Revealed

Nigeria and Napoli superstar Victor Osimhen was crowned 2023 African Footballer of the Year at the annual Confederation of African Football awards ceremony in Marrakech, Morocco on Monday evening.

It was the first time a Nigerian scooped the prestigious honour since Nwankwo Kanu more than two decades ago as the prolific striker who fired Napoli to a Serie A title ousted Achraf Hakimin and Mohamed Salah for the biggest prize in African football.

Bafana Bafana star Percy Tau, who won the CAF Champions League with Al Ahly was named the interclub Player of the Year but was not present for the honour as the Red Devils are currently in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia for the FIFA Club World Cup.

The other South African award winners were Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies as Team of the Year in the Women’s category, while Desiree Ellis scooped her fourth consecutive Women’s Coach of the Year honour.

Banyana Banyana star Thembi Kgatlana was among the top three nominees for the Women’s Player of the Year award but saw Asisat Oshoala lift the title once again.

It was the FC Barcelona and Nigeria national team star’s record-extending sixth title in his career.

  • CAF Team of the Year (WOMEN) – Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies
  • CAF Team of the Year (MEN) – Al Ahly
  • Interclub Player of the Year (MEN) – Percy Tau (South Africa/Al Ahly)
  • Interclub Player of the Year (WOMEN) – Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco/ASFAR)
  • Young Player of the Year (WOMEN) – Nesryne El Chad (Morocco/LOSC Lille)
  • Young Player of the Year (MEN) – Lamine Camara (Senegal/FC Metz)
  • CAF National Team of the Year (WOMEN) – Nigeria
  • CAF National Team of the Year (MEN) – Morocco
  • CAF Goal of the Year – Mahmoud Kahraba (Al Ahly vs Al Hilal)
  • Goalkeeper of the Year (WOMEN) – Chiamaka Nnadozie (FC Paris)
  • Goalkeeper of the Year (MEN) – Yassine Bounou (Morocco/Al Hilal Saudi)
  • Coach of the Year (WOMEN) – Desiree Ellis
  • Coach of the Year (MEN) – Walid Regragui
  • Footballer of the Year (WOMEN) – Asisat Oshoala
  • Footballer of the Year (MEN) – Victor Osimhen
Victor Osimhen of Nigeria during the 2023 CAF Awards held in Marrakech, Morocco on 11 December 2023©Nour Aknajja/BackpagePix
Lorenz Kohler
Lorenz Kohler
Lorenz Köhler is an award-winning South African football journalist. Having cut his teeth in the industry working at Kick-Off Magazine, he is now iDiski Times' senior digital content writer. He specialises in breaking top African football stories and transfers with a major focus on the 'big-three' Mamelodi Sundowns, Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates and CAF inter-club and international competitions. In 2021 he was listed amongst the top-five journalists under 30 in Print Media for the AIPS Awards.