Thursday, July 25, 2024
HomeAfrican FootballTau, Downs & Banyana Stars Nominated For CAF Awards

Tau, Downs & Banyana Stars Nominated For CAF Awards

Percy Tau as well as players from Mamelodi Sundowns – both the ladies and the men’s teams – have been nominated for the upcoming CAF Awards.

In the male categories, Tau and Peter Shalulile will rival Fiston Mayele for the CAF Interclub Player of the Year, while Mamelodi Sundowns are among the final three male teams in the Club of the Year award but the Sundowns Ladies have also been nominated in the CAF Women’s Club of the Year category.

Nigeria’s Victor Osimhen, Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah and Paris Saint-Germain’s Achraf Hakimi will rival each other for the main award, the African Footballer of the Year.

In the female category of the same award, Thembi Kgatlana has made the final shortlist – the Racing Louisville and Banyana Banyana star will battle Nigeria’s Asiasat Oshoala and Barbara Banda for the CAF Women’s Footballer of the Year gong.

Meanwhile, both Banyana head coach Desiree Ellis and Sundowns Ladies head coach Jerry Tshabalala have been nominated in the Women’s Coach of the Year category for their exploits this past year.

Banyana have been nominated among the Women’s National Team of the Year after their heroics at the 2022 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations, bringing the trophy back to South Africa for the very first time, before writing more history at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup where they reached the knockout stages for the first time in history.

In addition, Banyana and Downs Ladies shot stopper Andile Dlamini made the final three nominees in the CAF Women’s Goalkeeper of the Year, while Kaylin Swart dropped out. Similarly, Sundowns’ men’s goalie Ronwen Williams also did not make the final three-man shortlist for the CAF Men’s Goalkeeper of the Year.

Young Banyana starlet Thubelihle Shamase, who plays for UJ at club level, had made the initial shortlist for the Young Women’s Player of the Year, but didn’t make the final three.

Finally, Sundowns Ladies and Banyana star Lebohang Ramalepe and her club teammate Refilwe Tholakele have been nominated in the CAF Interclub Women’s Player of the Year category.

The 2023 CAF awards will take place on 11 December in Marrakesh, Morocco.

Full List of Nominees (in alphabetic order by Member Association):

Player of the Year (Men)

  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool)
  • Achraf Hakimi (Morocco, Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Victor Osimhen (Nigeria, Napoli)

Player of the Year (Women)

  • Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona)
  • Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa, Racing Louisville)
  • Barbara Banda (Zambia, Shanghai Shengli)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)

  • Fiston Mayele (DR Congo, Pyramids)
  • Peter Shalulile (Namibia, Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Percy Tau (South Africa, Al Ahly)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)

  • Refilwe Tholakele (Botswana, Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)
  • Lebohang Ramalepe (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Coach of the Year (Men)

  • Abdelhak Benchika (Algeria, Simba SC)
  • Walid Regragui (Morocco)
  • Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

Coach of the Year (Women)

  • Reynald Pedros (Morocco)
  • Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
  • Jerry Tshabalala (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Men)

  • Andre Onana (Cameroon, Manchester United)
  • Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt, Al Ahly)
  • Yassine Bounou (Morocco, Al Hilal)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Women)

  • Khadija Er-Rmichi (Morocco, AS FAR)
  • Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)
  • Andile Dlamini (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Young Player of the Year (Men)

  • Abdessamad Ezzalzouli (Morocco, Real Betis)
  • Lamine Camara (Senegal, Metz)
  • Amara Diouf (Senegal, Metz)

Young Player of the Year (Women)

  • Comfort Yeboah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)
  • Nesryne El Chad (Morocco, Lille)
  • Deborah Abiodun (Nigeria, Pittsburgh Panthers)

National Team of the Year (Men)

  • Gambia
  • Morocco
  • Senegal

National Team of the Year (Women)

  • Morocco
  • Nigeria
  • South Africa

Club of the Year (Men)

  • Al Ahly (Egypt)
  • Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)
  • Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

Club of the Year (Women)

  • AS FAR (Morocco)
  • Sporting Casablanca (Morocco)
  • Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)
David Kappel
David Kappel
David Kappel has served as a renowned international editor and content manager for almost a decade. David specialises in ensuring content and social media posts are highly engaging for football fans and was previously the international editor at Soccer Laduma. He is currently the iDiski Times website editor and social strategist.