Monday, July 15, 2024
HomeBafana Bafana2025 AFCON Qualifier Groups Confirmed

2025 AFCON Qualifier Groups Confirmed

The draw for the 2025 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers took place in Johannesburg and has placed Bafana Bafana in an interesting group.

The draw saw a total of 48 teams placed in 12 groups of four teams, with the group winners and 11 runners-up (excluding the group of hosts Morocco) gaining qualification.

Hugo Broos’ Bafana Bafana were seeded in Pot 1 after sitting in 10th position among the CAF nations in the latest FIFA rankings, thus avoiding some of the continents big guns from the same pot.

Bafana were placed in Group K, Uganda, Congo and South Sudan in their attempt to qualify for another AFCON tournament.

The tournament will take place in Morocco between December 2025 and January 2026, as recently announced by CAF.

Below are all qualifying groups:

  • Group A: Tunisia, Madagascar, Comoros, The Gambia
  • Group B: Morocco, Gabon, Central Africa, Lesotho
  • Group C: Egypt, Cape Verde, Mauritania, Botswana
  • Group D: Nigeria, Benin, Libya, Rwanda
  • Group E: Algeria, Equatorial Guinea, Togo, Liberia
  • Group F: Ghana, Angola, Sudan, Niger
  • Group G: Ivory Coast, Zambia, Sierra Leone, Chad
  • Group H: DR Congo, Guinea, Tanzania, Ethopia
  • Group I: Mali, Mozambique, Guinea-Bissau, eSwatini
  • Group J: Cameroon, Namibia, Kenia, Zimbabwe
  • Group K: South Africa, Uganda, Congo Brazzaville, South Sudan
  • Group L: Senegal, Burkina Faso, Malawi, Burundi

The qualifiers will kick off in September 2024.

David Kappel
David Kappel
David Kappel has served as a renowned international editor and content manager for almost a decade. David specialises in ensuring content and social media posts are highly engaging for football fans and was previously the international editor at Soccer Laduma. He is currently the iDiski Times website editor and social strategist.