Saturday, June 22, 2024
HomeDStv Premiership'I Will Never Give Up On Shalulile'

‘I Will Never Give Up On Shalulile’

Mamelodi Sundowns head coach Rulani Mokwena has thrown his unwavering support behind striker Peter Shalulile.

Shalulile is on the brink of becoming the all-time record goalscorer in Premier Soccer League history and surpassing the 123 mark of Siyabonga Nomvethe but has come under major scrutiny this season from the club’s supporters.

However, the Namibian has now scored five league goals in his last six matches after a difficult run of form prior, moving into a great confidence booster ahead of the Nedbank Cup final against Orlando Pirates.

His goal against Galaxy on Tuesday evening also spared their incredible unbeaten run to 53 league games and kept their invincible season charge alive for the 2023/24 campaign.

“I’m proud of the mentality all the players showed, even with [Aubrey] Modiba, he was struggling for legs, but to be so aggressive to get the ball into the box for the assist, and Peter, he is very special, I know… I’ve said this before, a lot of people can give up on Peter but I’ll never give up on Peter Shalulile, no chance,” Mokwena said.

“In fact, I will never give up on any of these players, because they never give up on me, so I’m very proud, I’m happy for Peter, happy for this group of players and I’m extremely grateful for their efforts, they are an amazing group of players.”

The Namibia international requires four more goals to make history in South African football and go down as the greatest-ever goal scorer.

Lorenz Kohler
Lorenz Kohler
Lorenz Köhler is an award-winning South African football journalist. Having cut his teeth in the industry working at Kick-Off Magazine, he is now iDiski Times' senior digital content writer. He specialises in breaking top African football stories and transfers with a major focus on the 'big-three' Mamelodi Sundowns, Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates and CAF inter-club and international competitions. In 2021 he was listed amongst the top-five journalists under 30 in Print Media for the AIPS Awards.