Tuesday, April 16, 2024
spot_img
HomeDStv PremiershipNcobo Discusses Timm Red Card Vs Downs

Ncobo Discusses Timm Red Card Vs Downs

Former FIFA referee Ace Ncobo believes Miguel Timm’s red card as well as Orlando Pirates’ penalty against Mamelodi Sundowns were the correct decisions by the referee on Saturday.

Match official Thando Ndzandzeka has come under the spotlight after handing Timm a second yellow card in Pirates’ 1-1 draw with Sundowns over the weekend.

Timm appeared to impede Downs goalkeeper Ronwen Williams as he attempted a quick kick out of his hands, but despite tv footage showing that Timm didn’t touch Williams, Ncobo explaiend why Ndzandzeka made the right call to show the Pirates midfielder a second yellow card.

“Players need to learn when the goalkeeper is in possession you are not allowed to challenge him,” he said on Extra-Time.

Miguel Timm vs Ronwen Williams. Image credit: SuperSport TV

“[First] you’re getting into that reckless challenge, which ends in the first yellow card. That’s a reckless challenge, that’s clear, no argument about that. Correct decision by the referee, even the player accepts it.

“[Then] the corner is taken, the goalkeeper takes charge of the ball and as he about the release he is prevented from doing so because there are players who challenge him for that ball.

“Players need to understand that when a goalkeeper is in possession of the ball, possession includes that moment when he is releasing the ball back into play.

“The challenge is on the ball when the goalkeeper is in possession of the ball. As the goalkeeper is still releasing the ball, he is deemed to be in possession of the ball, so you cannot challenge him.

“For me, both players [Ndah & Timm] challenge the goalkeeper whilst he is in possession of the ball. If that yellow is rescinded from the other player [Ndah], I would disagree with that because for me, both players commit the same offence, of course using different methods, [but] both of them challenge the goalkeeper while he is still in possession.”

Ncobo also explained why the referee was right to award Pirates a penalty after Abdelmounaim Boutouil fouled Thapelo Xoki, who stepped up and converted the spot-kick.

“The moment the ball is in action, no matter how far away from the ball you are, you are not supposed to do what that player [Boutouil] is doing,” he added.

“He’s holding the player, pushing him down to the ground. The ball is already in play, you are fouling the attacker. The fact that the ball is not in the vicinity of where you are at that moment is irrelevant, the ball is already in play, you’re holding an opponent. The referee is right there in front of you, he picks it up, spot on decision by the referee.”

David Kappel
David Kappel
David Kappel has served as a renowned international editor and content manager for almost a decade. David specialises in ensuring content and social media posts are highly engaging for football fans and was previously the international editor at Soccer Laduma. He is currently the iDiski Times website editor and social strategist.
TRENDING

RELATED ARTICLES