Saturday, December 9, 2023
HomeDStv PremiershipOfficial: Sekhukhune Appoint Brakkies Successor

Official: Sekhukhune Appoint Brakkies Successor

Sekhukhune United have appointed Lehlohonolo Seema as their new head coach as he succeeds Brandon Truter.

The former Orlando Pirates captain resigned from his job at Polokwane City last week with the club in sixth place with 17 points from their opening 12 games.

He also led them to the quarter-final of the Carling Knockout whilst delivering some enterprising football at the newly promoted side.

Babina Noko shortlisted him amongst several names and his CAF A License is said to have been a major factor in getting the nod as he will be able to lead the team in the group stages of the CAF Confederation Cup.

Truter was relieved of his duties alongside Goalkeeper Coach Johan Abselon with the club in 12th place, five points off the drop zone.

“Sekhukhune United Football Club is pleased to announce the appointment of Lehlohonolo Seema as Head Coach effective immediately,” the club stated.

“I’d like to take this opportunity to thank the Chairman, Mr. Simon Malatji for having afforded me an opportunity to lead the team,” said Seema.

“I’m most appreciative of how the negotiations between my management team and the Club were handled, in a respectable and candid manner. There is obviously a lot ahead of us and therefore I have to hit the ground running.”

“I don’t wish to make any promises except to offer my work ethic and dedication to the Club and its supporters.”

Lorenz Kohler
Lorenz Kohler
Lorenz Köhler is an award-winning South African football journalist. Having cut his teeth in the industry working at Kick-Off Magazine, he is now iDiski Times' senior digital content writer. He specialises in breaking top African football stories and transfers with a major focus on the 'big-three' Mamelodi Sundowns, Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates and CAF inter-club and international competitions. In 2021 he was listed amongst the top-five journalists under 30 in Print Media for the AIPS Awards.