Sunday, June 23, 2024
HomeDStv PremiershipPSL Awards Winners For May Confirmed

PSL Awards Winners For May Confirmed

Cape Town City forward Khanyisa Mayo and Swallows coach Musa Nyatama have scooped the final Premier Soccer League month awards.

Nyatama closed off a great 2022/23 DStv Premiership season for Swallows FC as he secured the final DStv Premiership Coach of the Month award, winning it for May.

The Swallows FC caretaker coach had a dream end to the league campaign at the club by saving the Soweto-based side from relegation and incredibly securing a Top 8 finishing on the last day, all of which took place in May.

In the process, Ntayama’s Swallows finished the month by winning all their fixtures and securing a solid 9 points out of 9. This included away victories over Kaizer Chiefs and Royal AM as well as Marumo Gallants at home.

Nyatama who starred and retired as a player for Swallows, becomes the first Swallows FC coach to win the award, after Brandon Truter two seasons ago.

Mayo, the joint-league top goal scorer for the 2022/23 DStv Premiership season, was honoured with the DStv Premiership Player of the Month for May.

Mayo stood out for the judges owing to his sterling contribution during this final month of the season in Cape Town City’s cause to finish the season better than they began, eventually securing a 4th place finish.

Nyatama and Mayo both win their first-ever monthly individual award in the DStv Premiership.

They beat City and Orlando Pirates’ coaches Eric Tinkler and Jose Riveiro, Nyatama’s forward at Swallows Lindokuhle Mtshali, Edwin Gyimah of Sekhukhune United as well as Monnapule Saleng from the Buccaneers, who were all also impressive in May but received lesser votes from the judging panel.

For their recognition, Nyatama and Mayo will each receive a trophy and R7,000 courtesy of league sponsors, DStv.

iDiski Times
iDiski Times
iDiski Times is one of the fastest-growing football brands in South Africa. Boasting a free weekly newspaper as well as a 24/7 news website with top breaking news in the PSL (DStv Premiership, Motsepe Foundation Championship), women's football and all other major tournaments in South Africa and abroad.