Thursday, April 18, 2024
HomeDStv PremiershipSundowns Stars Dominate Passing Stats In PSL

Sundowns Stars Dominate Passing Stats In PSL

Mamelodi Sundowns have four of the leading five passers, statistically, in the 2023/24 DStv Premiership, with Teboho Mokoena leading the way.

The reigning PSL Footballer of the Season has become one of the most important figures in the Sundowns squad since his arrival from SuperSport United in January 2022, with a passing range and dynamism that’s transformed their midfield, attack and the way they bring the ball of defence.

It’s no surprise to see him with an average of 73.1 passes per 90 minutes this season with a pass completion rate of 87.6% and as the regista, who looks to spearhead attacks, it’s a staggering figure at this stage of the season.

His teammate, Rivaldo Coetzee, dubbed, the system in the ‘Stones Role’ this season, betters him in pass completion percentage at 91.8% but ‘Tebza’ is ahead of him in passes per game by 0.4.

Marcello Allende and Ndabayithethwa Ndlondlo of Orlando Pirates occupy positions three and four, while the top five are rounded off by midfielder-turned-centre-back Mothobi Mvala.

Top Five Accurate Passers In DStv Premiership:

  1. Teboho Mokoena: 73.1 passes per 90min (87.6% pass success rate)
  2. Rivaldo Coetzee: 72.7 passes per 90min (91.8% pass success rate)
  3. Marcelo Allende: 66.7 passes per 90 min (89.8% pass success rate)
  4. Ndabayithethwa Ndlondlo: 66 passes per 90min (88.8% pass success rate)
  5. Mothobi Mvala: 63.3 passes per 90min (89.7% success rate)

*Data by Fotmob.

Lorenz Kohler
Lorenz Kohler
Lorenz Köhler is an award-winning South African football journalist. Having cut his teeth in the industry working at Kick-Off Magazine, he is now iDiski Times' senior digital content writer. He specialises in breaking top African football stories and transfers with a major focus on the 'big-three' Mamelodi Sundowns, Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates and CAF inter-club and international competitions. In 2021 he was listed amongst the top-five journalists under 30 in Print Media for the AIPS Awards.