Thursday, June 13, 2024
spot_img
HomeDStv PremiershipTso Discusses Chiefs Penalty At Maritzburg

Tso Discusses Chiefs Penalty At Maritzburg

Benedict ‘Tso’ Vilakazi says without a shadow of a doubt Xola Sitela made a good decision by awarding Kaizer Chiefs a decisive penalty, in their 3-2 league win over Maritzburg United this past weekend.

Ashley du Preez went down in United’s box in the 70th minute after it looked like Mogamad de Goede made contact with the Chiefs player.

Yusuf Maart stepped up and converted it to help the club bag maximum points and keep Amakhosi’s hopes of a top-two finish alive, while sinking the Team of Choice a bit further in the relegation zone.

While there has been a huge outcry by Maritzburg coach Fadlu Davids after the match, former Orlando Pirates midfielder said sometimes players have to risk waiting for opponents to commit mistakes to benefit.

“This is not something that I teach or influence but this is something that happens in football. It is something that I did about 10 years ago,” said Vilakazi on iDiski TV.

“Sometimes you need to take a risk in the box where you say I will wait for that contact. Immediately when that contact happens then I go down.

“There are games where you see that things are really tough and we are trying. Now you need to have patience and wait for that [contact] to happen. If the contact happens and you react to it by going down and the referee buys it… its football.

“There are plenty of penalties that have been given after players fool referees by diving. So, on this one we can argue until we are blue in the face but there was contact when the defender [De Goede] put his hand against Du Preez.

“That hand gesture meant he was pushing the opponent away from the ball. So the position of the hand helped the referee make the decision because when you look at Du Preez’s run he was already in front of the defender.

“So it says to the referee the player has 95% of the ball. It looked like the defender was aware that he had already lost the ball hence the usage of the hand. So it’s a penalty, done, finished. A straight penalty no doubt.”

You can watch Vilakazi’s full analysis of the match on iDiski TV official YouTube channel.

Lethabo Kganyago
Lethabo Kganyago
Lethabo Kganyago is currently working as a web and newspaper writer for iDiski Times. This award-winning sports journalist covers the Limpopo area and also specialises in coverage of women's football, including Banayana Banyana.
TRENDING

RELATED ARTICLES