Tuesday, July 23, 2024
HomeDStv Premiership2022/23 Final Golden Boot Ranking

2022/23 Final Golden Boot Ranking

Cape Town City’s Khanyisa Mayo and Mamelodi Sundowns’ Peter Shalulile will share the Lesley Manyathela Golden Boot for the 2022/2023 season after both ended with 12 goals.

Mayo missed a chance to win it outright, after he didn’t get on the scoresheet in City’s final fixture on Saturday, as they won 1-0 against Kaizer Chiefs.

Shalulile himself had missed out on Sundowns’ final league game, a 1-1 draw with Maritzburg United, as he was rested ahead of their CAF Champions League semi-final second leg.

Monnapule Saleng finished third with eleven goals after getting on the scoresheet in Orlando Pirates 4-0 win over AmaZulu.

Ranga Chivaviro, Bradley Grübler and Etiosa Ighodaro all finished on 10 goals after failing to score on the final day of the season.

It is just the third time that the award has been shared in the PSL era. Shalulile and Gabadinho Mhango shared it in 2018/2019 with 16 strikes, while it was also shared in the 2017/2018 season between Rodney Ramagalela (Polokwane City) and Percy Tau with just 11 goals.

The 12 goals this season is also the lowest tally of goals by a winner since that campaign when Tau and Ramagalela scored 11.

Overall, it’s Shalulile’s third Golden Boot in South Africa after 2019/20 (16 goals for Highlands Park) and 2022/23 (23 goals for Sundowns).

iDiski Times
iDiski Timeshttps://www.idiskitimes.co.za/
iDiski Times is one of the fastest-growing football brands in South Africa. Boasting a free weekly newspaper as well as a 24/7 news website with top breaking news in the PSL (DStv Premiership, Motsepe Foundation Championship), women's football and all other major tournaments in South Africa and abroad.