Wednesday, June 12, 2024
HomeAfrican FootballPitso, Tau & Bucs Drop Out Of CAF Awards Shortlists

Pitso, Tau & Bucs Drop Out Of CAF Awards Shortlists

The Confederation of African Football have confirmed the final three-place shortlists for this year’s CAF awards, and while Pitso Mosimane, Percy Tau and Orlando Pirates dropped out, South Africa  still has five nominees in the women’s categories.

Mamelodi Sundowns duo Andile Dlamini and Bambanani Mbanie are among the final three for the Women’s Interclub Player of the Year, while their coach Jerry Tshabalala and Banyana Banyana head coach Desiree Ellis are in the running for the Women’s Coach of the Year.

Sundowns Ladies are also still in the running for the Women’s Club of the Year after winning the inaugural CAF Champions League, but Pirates dropped out of the men’s shortlist.

Pitso Mosimane and Percy Tau, who had made the five men and 10 men shortlists of the Men’s Coach of the Men’s Interclub Player of the Year have both also not made the final shortlists.

In the main categories, Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and Edouard Mendy contest the CAF Men’s Player of the Year, while Asiasat Oshoala, Grace Chanda and Ajara Nchout Njoya are fighting for the CAF Women’s Player of the Year.

Meanwhile, Gabadinho Mhango has remained in the running for the CAF Goal of the Year award.

You can see all the complete list of all top 3 nominees (in alphabetical order) below.

Player of the Year (Women)

  • Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon & Internazionale Milano)
  • Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona)
  • Grace Chanda (Zambia & BIIK Kazygurt)

Player of the Year (Men)

  • Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea)
  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
  • Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)

  • Andile Dlamini (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Bambanani Mbanie (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns) 
  • Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)

  • Achraf Dari (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)
  • Aliou Dieng (Mali & Al Ahly)
  • Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly)

Young Player of the Year (Women)

  • Doris Boaduwaa (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies)
  • Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)
  • Yasmine Zouhir (Morocco & AS Saint-Etienne)

Young Player of the Year (Men) 

  • Hannibal Mejbri (Tunisia & Manchester United)
  • Karim Konate (Cote d’Ivoire & ASEC/RB Salzburg)
  • Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Tottenham Hotspur)

Coach of the Year (Women)

  • Bruce Mwape (Zambia)
  • Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
  • Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Reynald Pedros (Morocco)

Coach of the Year (Men)

  • Aliou Cisse (Senegal)
  • Carlos Queiroz (Egypt)
  • Walid Regragui (Wydad Athletic Club)

Club of the Year (Women)

  • AS FAR (Morocco)
  • Hasaacas Ladies (Ghana)
  • Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

Club of the Year (Men)

  • Al Ahly (Egypt)
  • RS Berkane (Morocco)
  • Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)

Goal of the Year

  • Gabadinho Mhango (Malawi & Orlando Pirates)
  • Pape Ousmane Sakho (Senegal & Simba)
  • Zouhair El Moutaraji (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)

National Team of the Year (Men) 

  • Cameroon
  • Egypt
  • Senegal

National Team of the Year (Women) 

“Due to the absence of a major women’s competition during the period under review, the Organising Team for the CAF Awards 2022 has reviewed the selection process for this important category. The TotalEnergies Women’s Africa Cup of Nations Morocco will be factored as one of the criterion in deciding a winner befitting of the status of the award and women’s football in general. The winner will be announced on 23 July 2022 during the final match of the Women’s AFCON,” CAF stated.

David Kappel
David Kappel
David Kappel has served as a renowned international editor and content manager for almost a decade. David specialises in ensuring content and social media posts are highly engaging for football fans and was previously the international editor at Soccer Laduma. He is currently the iDiski Times website editor and social strategist.