Amartey Opens Up On Bafana Penalty Incident
Ghana defender Daniel Amartey has opened up on the controversial penalty incident against Bafana Bafana, saying tv footage didn’t capture what really happened.
Amartey, 26, was judged to be brought down inside the South Africa box in the 33rd minute before the referee pointed to the spot.
Andre Ayew stepped up and converted the controversial penalty, which was enough to beat South Africa on the night and overtake them on the Group G log.
While there was has been a major outcry in South Africa over the decision and SAFA have confirmed they will lodge an official complaint, Amartey insisted he was pulled.
“After the game, I asked Amartey about the penalty, he told me he was pulled,” former Ghana player Awudu Issaka said on Angel TV, as cited by Ghanaian journalist Saddick Adams.
“He said the South African defender held his hand at the back and pulled him but left it when he was falling off.
“The camera didn’t capture that.”
SAFA have since confirmed they feel “robbed” and will lodge an official complaint with CAF and FIFA, with more details set to be confirmed in a press conference on Wednesday.