Sunday, February 25, 2024
HomeInternationalFIFA FIFPro World XI Announced

FIFA FIFPro World XI Announced

FIFA and FIFPro have announced the Men’s and Women’s World XI of the year 2023 during Monday’s awards gala.

Over 28,000 professional footballers have voted for their team of the year; the World 11 is the only global football award decided exclusively by professional footballers.

The goalkeeper, along with three defenders, three midfielders and three forwards who receive the most votes, are named in the World 11. The remaining spot is assigned to the outfield player with the next highest number of votes who is not selected already.

After Manchester City won the treble, six of their players were voted into the World XI, while Real Madrid have three stars in the selection.

  • GK: Thibaut Courtois
  • DF: John Stones
  • DF: Kyle Walker
  • DF: Ruben Dias
  • MF: Jude Bellingham
  • MF: Bernardo Silva
  • MF: Kevin De Bruyne
  • FW: Lionel Messi
  • FW: Vinicius Junior
  • FW: Kylian Mbappe
  • FW: Erling Haaland

The Women’s World XI was also announced and it was dominated by England players.

Mary Earps, Lucy Bronze, Olga Carmona, Alex Greenwood, Keira Walsh, Alessa Russo, Lauren James, Ella Toone, Aitana Bonmati, Alex Morgan, Sam Kerr

David Kappel
David Kappel
David Kappel has served as a renowned international editor and content manager for almost a decade. David specialises in ensuring content and social media posts are highly engaging for football fans and was previously the international editor at Soccer Laduma. He is currently the iDiski Times website editor and social strategist.