Sunday, July 21, 2024
HomeInternationalNominees For The Best FIFA Men's Player Named

Nominees For The Best FIFA Men’s Player Named

FIFA has announced the 11 players who have been shortlisted for The Best FIFA Men’s Player award in 2020.

The world governing body announced their nominees on Wednesday, and with France Football announcing there will be no Ballon d’Or this year, the award has more significance than usual.

The list is dominated by Liverpool players, although Thiago Alacantara’s nomination was based off his performances last season at Bayern Munich, rather than at his new club.

Of course no list of this kind could ignore Lionel Messi, who won last year, 2017 winner Cristiano Ronaldo, and Neymar, who has also been a regular nominee.

The full list:

Thiago Alcantara (Liverpool/Bayern Munich and Spain)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus and Portugal)

Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City and Belgium)

Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich and Germany)

Sadio Mane (Liverpool and Senegal)

Kylian Mbappe (PSG and France)

Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina)

Neymar (PSG and Brazil)

Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid and Spain)

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool and Egypt)

Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool and Netherlands)

Rob Delport
Rob Delport
Rob Delport is a walking football encyclopedia, having been a mainstay in the Cape Town football scene for years. Rob has previously worked for SABC and various websites and publications across Africa, as well as being the South African Head Researcher for Football Manager and doing a similar role occasionally for EA Sports FIFA. Highly respected, Rob is now a senior iDiski Times website and newspaper writer, and is also responsible for the newspaper's editorial.