Connect with us

African Football

Pitso Reacts To World Coach Of The Year Nomination

Al Ahly head coach Pitso Mosimane has expressed his delight after being nominated among the likes of Pep Guardiola, Zinedine Zidane and Thomas Tuchel for the World Coach of the Year award.

Mosimane who won the domestic treble with Mamelodi Sundowns before leading Ahly to back to back CAF Champions League crowns was named alongside many top coaches from Europe as well as Mamelodi Sundowns’ Manqoba Mngqithi.

Taking to his official Twitter account he acknowledged the recognition and praised his agency MT Sports for their incredible behind the scenes work amid his rise towards being amongst the football elite.

“It is a privilege and an honour to be nominated amongst the masterminds of football in this generation,” he wrote on social media.

“Thank you to my team for the constant support.”

Mosimane is among three African coaches to be recognised amongst the glittering names, which includes his former assistant and now co-head coach at Mamelodi Sundowns, Manqoba Mngqithi.

Two-time African Champions League-winning coach Moïne Chaâbani also made the list for his exploits with Esperance – however, he’s since joined Egyptian Premier League side Al Masry.

List of nominees in full:

Thomas Tuchel (Germany, Chelsea)
Josep Guardiola (Spain, Manchester City)
Mauricio Pochettino (Argentina, PSG)
Zinedine Zidane (France, Real Madrid)
Unai Emeri (Spain, Villarreal)
Ole Gunnar Solskjær (Norway, Manchester United)
Hans-Dieter Flick (Germany, Bayern)
Julian Nagelsmann (Germany, Leipzig)
Diego Simeone (Argentina, Atletico Madrid)
Antonio Conte (Italy, Internazionale)
Christophe Galtier (France, Lille)
Yuriy Vernydub (Ukraine, Sheriff)
Renato Gaúcho (Brazil, Flamengo)
Abel Ferreira (Brazil, Palmeiras)
Alexi Stival “Cuca” (Brazil, Atlético Mineiro)
Pitso Mosimane (South Africa,Al Ahly SC team)
Manqoba Mngqithi (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)
Moïn Chaâbani (Tunisia, Al Masry)
Jim Curtin (USA, Philadelphia Union)
Santiago Solari (Argentina, CF America team)
Javier Aguirre (Mexico, CF Monterrey)
Juan Reynoso (Peru, Cruz Azul team)
Leonardo Jardim (Portugal, Al Hilal FC)
Gi dong Kim (South Korea, Pohang Steelers)



Latest News

Get iDiski Times On Magzter

Live Scores