Connect with us


UEFA Name UCL Squad Of The Season, CR7 Snubbed

UEFA have announced the official 23-man Squad of the 2020/21 Season, with Cristiano Ronaldo failing to make it for a second year in a row.

The competition’s all-time record goalscorer only netted four goals in the UCL this campaign and wasn’t able to prevent Juventus from being eliminated by Porto in the last 16.

With Chelsea lifting the 2020/21 UCL trophy, it doesn’t surprise that the Blues have the most representatives in the team, with seven newly-crowned UCL winners making the squad, namely: Edouard Mendy – the only African in the team – Cesar Azpilicueta, Ben Chilwell, Antonio Rudiger, Jorginho, Mason Mount and N’Golo Kante.

Runners-up Manchester City have five players in the team, while Real Madrid and Paris Saint-Germain had three players.

This year’s top goalscorer of the competition, Erling Haaland also made the squad, along with Lionel Messi despite the latter also being eliminated in the last 16 already.

Below is the complete UCL Squad of the Season:

Goalkeepers: Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid), Ederson (Man. City), Edouard Mendy (Chelsea)

Defenders: César Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Rúben Dias (Man. City), Marquinhos (Paris), Antonio Rüdiger (Chelsea), Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), David Alaba (Bayern)

Midfielders: Jorginho (Chelsea), Mason Mount (Chelsea), N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea), Kevin De Bruyne (Man. City), Ilkay Gündoğan (Man. City), Luka Modrić (Real Madrid), Sérgio Oliveira (Porto), Phil Foden (Man. City)

Forwards: Erling Haaland (Dortmund), Kylian Mbappé (Paris), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern), Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), Neymar (Paris), Lionel Messi (Barcelona)