Saturday, April 13, 2024
HomeLocal NewsSAFA Select First Ever U15 National Team

SAFA Select First Ever U15 National Team

The South African Football Association have selected their first ever U15 national team after hosting the inaugural U15 Technical Development Scheme Tournament, which was won by Kaizer Chiefs, over the weekend.

The tournament took place at Panarama Football Club in Honeydew, where nine provincial teams, which were selected over three months, went head-to-head with six invited academies from around the country, including the Pitso Mosimane Soccer Schools.

Kaizer Chiefs U15 beat KwaZulu-Natal province 2-1 in the final, after Chiefs had beaten Gauteng province in the semi-final, while KZN province knocked out the School of Excellence in the last four.

“SAFA Technical Director Walter Steenbok said he was very happy that the provinces prepared well and  the final was played by a province and an academy,” SAFA stated.

A  Technical Study Group was present throughout the weekend and selected a pool of players that will make up the first-ever U15 National Team, which will ultimately become the next group of U17 National Team in 2025. 

The team includes 23 players, including Emile Witbooi, who is a son of former Mamelodi Sundowns winger Surprise Ralani. He was named Midfielder of the Tournament and Player of the Tournament, while Lesego ‘Mbesuma’ Hlophe was named Striker of the Tournament.

Both were included in the first ever South Africa U15 squad, which you can find below:

Goalkeepers: Lwandiso Radebe (SuperSport United), Athenkosi Gxekwa (Eastern Cape), Blackwell Ronin (Gauteng)

Defenders: Christiano Von Meulen (School of Excellence), Luke Hendricks (Cape Town academy), Luca Lazarus (SuperSport United), Tashiel Rugunanan (Kaizer Chiefs), Karabo Modika (Gauteng), Nhlonipho Cenga (Kaizer Chiefs), Kann Tiago (Gauteng), Liam Marthinius (Cape Town academy), Tswelelo Maake (SuperSport United) 

Midfielders: Mswane Lebogang (School of Excellence), Royce Malatji (Kaizer Chiefs), Steven Mendes (Kaizer Chiefs), Emile Witbooi (School of Excellence), Caleb Benjamin (Cape Town academy) 

Forwards: Khumo Koloti (SuperSport United), Simphiwe Mlondo (School of Excellence), Lesego Hlophe (Kaizer Chiefs), Monanyane Kgaogelo (Mamelodi Sundowns), David Stober (SuperSport United), Zaca Siphesihle (KZN) 

David Kappel
David Kappel
David Kappel has served as a renowned international editor and content manager for almost a decade. David specialises in ensuring content and social media posts are highly engaging for football fans and was previously the international editor at Soccer Laduma. He is currently the iDiski Times website editor and social strategist.