Connect with us


All 2020/21 PSL Awards Nominees Announced

The Premier Soccer League have announced the nominees for the Player of the Season and Coach of the Season awards, along with a host of other nominees for the #PSLAwards2021.

With Mamelodi Sundowns set to win their fourth successive Premiership title, it doesn’t surprise that a few of their players are among the nominees.

In addition, AmaZulu were rightfully rewarded for their record-breaking, with coach Benni McCarthy among the nominees for the Coach of the Season award. He is up against Sundowns duo Manqoba Mngqithi and Rulani Mokwena as well as Golden Arrows coach Mandla Ncikazi.

Meanwhile, Thabiso Kutumela will battle Masandawana duo Peter Shalulile and Themba Zwane for the Player’s Player of the Season accolade as well as the Footballer of the Season award.

Orlando Pirates stars Deon Hotto and Ben Motshwari were nominated for the MTN8 Last Man Standing gong after the Buccaneers lifted the MTN8 trophy, while Bloemfontein Celtic’s also made the nominees.

Meanwhile, TTM duo Washington Arubi and Ndabayithethwa Ndlondlo were nominated alongside Mamelodi Sundowns striker Peter Shalulile for the Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament.

The PSL Awards ceremony will be held on Sunday June 6 at 20h00.

All 2020/21 #PSLAwards nominees:

PSL Footballer of the Season

Thabiso Kutumela (Maritzburg), Peter Shalulile (Sundowns) and Themba Zwane (Sundowns)

DStv Premiership Player’s Player of the Season

Thabiso Kutumela (Maritzburg), Peter Shalulile (Sundowns) and Themba Zwane (Sundowns)

DStv Premiership Coach of the Season

Benni McCarthy (AmaZulu), Manqoba Mngqithi & Rulani Mokwena (Sundowns) and Mandla Ncikazi (Arrows)

DStv Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season

Sifiso Mlungwana (Arrows), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu) and Denis Onyango (Sundowns)

DStv Premiership Defender of the Season

Mosa Lebusa (Sundowns), Njabulo Ngcobo (Swallows) and Thapelo Xoki (AmaZulu)

DStv Premiership Midfielder of the Season

Rivaldo Coetzee (Sundowns), Makhehleni Makhaula (AmaZulu) and Themba Zwane (Sundowns)

DStv Premiership Young Player of the Season

Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Maritzburg), Kamogelo Mahlangu (TS Galaxy) and Evidence Makgopa (Baroka)

MTN8 Last Man Standing

Deon Hotto (Orlando Pirates), Victor Letsoalo (Bloemfontein Celtic) and Ben Motshwari (Orlando Pirates)

Nedbank Cup Player of the tournament

Washington Arubi (TTM), Ndabayithethwa Ndlondlo (TTM) and Peter Shalulile (Sundowns)

Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player of the Season

Njabulo Blom (Kaizer Chiefs), Khanyisa Mayo (Richards Bay) and Maloisane Mokhele (Chippa United)

DStv Diski Challenge Rewired Player of the Season

Boitumelo Radiopane (Orlando Pirates), Lindokuhle Zungu (AmaZulu) and Siyanda Nyanga (Sundowns)