Surprise Exclusion In Final Malawi AFCON Squad

Author: iDiski Times
 | Date: December 31, 2021

Malawi have announced their final 23-man squad for the Africa Cup of Nations with Al Hilal forward Gerald Phiri Jnr. a surprise exclusion.

After playing the entire qualification campaign, Phiri has been dropped as a standby option by Flames Coach Marian Mario Marinica while  Zebron Kalima, Lawrence Chaziya and Charles Thom have made the cut.

The team is currently in Saudi Arabia for preparations where they are set to face Comoros and Mali in friendlies before moving to Bafoussam City where they will be based.

 They are in Group B alongside tournament favourites Senegal, Guinea and fellow Southern Africans Zimbabwe.

Malawi 23-man squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Enerst Kankhobwe (Nyasa Big Bullets), William Thole (BF Wanderers), Charles Thom (Silver Strikers)

Defenders: Stanley Sanudi (BF Wanderers), Gommezgani Chirwa (Nyasa Big Bullets), Mark Fodya (Silver Strikers), Limbikani Mzava (AmaZulu), Dennis Chembezi (Polokwane City), Lawrence Chaziya – (Civo Sporting), Peter Cholopi (BF Wanderers).

Midfielders / Wingers: Robin Ngalande (Saint George), Yamikani Chester (BF Wanderers), Peter Banda (Simba SC), Francisco Madinga (Dilla Gori), Zebron Kalima (Silver Strikers), John Banda (UD Songo), Charles Petro (Sheriff Tiraspol), Chimwemwe Idana (Nyasa Big Bullets), Chikoti Chirwa (Red Lions), Micium Mhone (Blue Eagles)

Strikers: Richard Mbulu (Baroka FC), Khuda Muyaba (Polokwane City), Gabadinho Mhango (Orlando Pirates)

Free iDiski Times

Trending News

More News