Official: Broos Announces Final Bafana Squad

Bafana Bafana coach Hugo Broos has announced his final squad for the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Morocco, cutting 13 names from his pre-liminary selection.


South Africa will face the 24th placed team in the FIFA rankings in the beginning of next month in a tricky away leg in Morocco.

However, Broos and his side have benefited from the decision of the Confederation of African Football to disqualify Zimbabwe from the qualifiers after the Warriors were suspended by FIFA due to government interference within the Zimbabwean Football Association.

As a consequence, only Morocco, South Africa and Liberia will contest for the two qualifying spots in Group K, handing Bafana a massive boost. The Atlas lions will face Bafana Bafana on 9 June.

On Thursday, Broos has now cut his squad down to 23 players and you can see the Belgian’s selection below.

Goalkeepers: Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs)

Defenders: Sydney Mobbie (Sekhukhune United), Khuliso Mudau, Grant Kekana, Lyle Lakay (all Mamelodi Sundowns), Bandile Shandu, Innocent Maela (both Orlando Pirates), Thibang Phete (Belenenses, Portugal), Taariq Fielies, Terrence Mashego (both Cape Town City)

Midfielders: Spephele Sithole (Belenenses, Portugal), Goodman Mosele (Pirates), Yusuf Maart (Sekhukhune United), Phathutshedzo Nange (Kaizer Chiefs)

Strikers: Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates), Evidence Makgopa (Baroka FC), Khanyiso Mayo (Cape Town City), Lyle Foster (Westerlo FC), Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Minnesota FC, USA), Percy Tau (Al Ahly, Egypt), Fagrie Lakay (Pyramids FC, Egypt)

Free iDiski Times

Trending News

More News