Ncobo On Chiefs’ Ruled Out Goal

David Kappel
April 5, 2022

Former FIFA referee Ace Ncobo has commented on the controversial incident when Kaizer Chiefs had a goal ruled out against Chippa United.

The incident happened in the 33rd minute of Amakhosi’s 3-1 win at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Sunday, when Samir Nurkovic was denied the 2-0 because the referee saw a foul in the build-up.

The match officials ruled that Chippa goalkeeper Lloyd Junior Kazapua was fouled by Chiefs’ Kearyn Baccus, when in fact he had misjudged a crosses and fumbled the ball without any intervention from the opposition.

“The ball goes directly to the goalkeeper, there is no opponent challenging for the ball, together with the goalkeeper,” Ncobo said on SuperSport tv.

“He fumbles the ball, it falls down. The man that comes to collect [the ball] and kicks it back does not foul anybody. The man that kicks the ball into goal has not committed any foul. 

“I looked also at the striker and the defender that were nearest the goalkeeper and I tried to look for a foul because also the referee will say ‘you can score a goal if no teammate of your’s has committed a foul prior to the ball crossing the line’. 

“I’ve looked there as well and I wanted to find a foul, I couldn’t find any.”

Ncobo also insisted that Baccus trying to prevent the goalkeeper from falling onto him cannot be seen as a foul and Kazapua had lost the ball at the moment in time already anyway.

“By the time the goalkeeper was falling into that player trying to protect himself, the ball had already been gone by that time,” he added.

“There is no touch. It’s not a spot on decision, that should’ve been a goal.” 

Despite the refereeing error, Chiefs won the game 3-1 and moved to 38 points on the log.

Hunt Reveals Bobby Motaung Promise

Free iDiski Times

Trending News

More News