Connect with us


Notoane Announces U23 Squad For Pre-Olympics Tournament

South Africa U23 National team coach David Notoane has named a 25-man squad to participate in a warm-up tournament ahead of the Tokyo Olympics.

The tournament in the United Arab Emirates will take place between 5-11 June, with South Africa facing Brazil, Korea and Argentina.

It’s part of SA’s preparations for the Olympics which will start on 22 July. Ama-Glugglug have been drawn alongside hosts Japan, France and Mexico in their Olympics group.

“The upcoming camp in Dubai is one that kick-starts our preparations for the Olympic Games. It is also aimed at integrating our foreign based players to see what they can bring into the group in terms of increasing the team quality and addressing key challenging positions,” said Notoane in a statement on SAFA’s website.

“We hope that we can get all the players that we require to integrate them during this vital preparation camp against Brazil, Korea and Argentina.  It will also give us a good measure in terms of the level of our players’ state of preparedness for the Tokyo Olympics later in July.’’

Notoane said he was looking forward to the Olympic Games and reckons the local and overseas-based players have what it takes to do the country proud.

South Africa U23 Men’s National Team Squad for UAE tourney:

GOALKEEPERS: Mondli Mpoto (Bloemfontein Celtic FC), Lincoln Vyver (Cape Town Spurs FC), Ricardo Goss (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

DEFENDERS: Tercious Malepe (FC Minaj (Ukraine), Katlego Mohamme (University of Pretoria FC), Thendo  Mukumela (Cape Town Spurs FC),  Luke Fleurs (Supersport Utd FC), Bongani Sam (Orlando Pirates FC), Keanu Cupido (Cape Town City FC), Kamogelo Mahlangu (TS Galaxy FC)

MIDFIELDERS: Luke Le Roux (Varbergs BoIS FC, Sweden), Thabo Cele (Cova da Piedade, Portugal), Khanya Leshabela (Leicester City FC, England), Athenkosi Dlala (University of Pretoria FC), Neo Gift Links (Aarhus GF, Denmark), Kobamelo Kodisang (Sporting Braga FC, Portugal), Nkosingiphile Ngcobo (Kaizer Chiefs FC), Sphephelo Sithole (Os Belenenses AD, Portugal), Promise Mkhuma (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

FORWARDS: Fagrie Lakay (Cape Town City), Siyabonga Ligendza (Cardiff City FC, England), Luther Singh (FC Pacos de Ferreira, Portugal), Keletso Makgalwa (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Lyle Foster (Vitoria Guimares FC, Portugal),  Liam Jordan (FC Helsingor, Denmark)