Wednesday, July 24, 2024
HomeLocalNotoane Names Shortlist For U23 Squad

Notoane Names Shortlist For U23 Squad

South African Under-23 Coach David Notoane addressed the media today, 100 days before the Tokyo Olympics Games are set to start, naming a short-list of players he is looking to use for the tournament.

Notoane has been working hard behind-the-scenes to put together the shortlist, but hasn’t ruled out players that are not included. 

The official draw for the Olympics will be held in Tokyo on 21 April 2021.

Last month there was a camp for locally-based players, and Notoane was able to get a better look at some candidates he hadn’t the opportunity to profile before.

They are now planning to use the FIFA week in June to go to Dubai to play a few friendlies, and hopefully get an opportunity to use some of the overseas-based players for this camp.

’I will continue to assess the players until we have the final 22,’’ said Notoane.

‘’The aim is to continue the performance assessment of the selected players based on continuity and need to strengthen the team for the final selection.”

Notoane has shortlisted seven over-age players for the three slots available in the final 18 man squad (the coach can also name 4 back-up additional back-up players). They are Brighton & Hove Albion’s Percy Tau, SuperSport United’s Ronwen Williams and five players from Mamelodi Sundowns – Themba Zwane, Ricardo Goss, Mosa Lebusa, Thapelo Morena and Mothobi Mvala.

Under-23 preliminary 40-man squad.


1. Mondli Mpoto (Bloemfontein Celtic FC)

2. Sifiso Mlungwana (Lamontville Golden Arrows FC)


3. Reeve Frosler (Kaizer Chiefs FC

4. Luke Fleurs (SuperSport United FC)

5. Repo Tercious Malepe (Minaj FC, Ukraine)

6. Katlego Mohamme (University of Pretoria FC)

7. Thabiso James Monyane (Orlando Pirates FC)

8. Thendo Mukumela (Cape Town Spurs FC)

9. Sifiso Ngobeni (Bloemfontein Celtic FC)

10. Bongani Sam (Orlando Pirates FC)


11. Athenkosi Dlala (University of Pretoria FC)          

12. Luke Le Roux (Varbergs BoIS, Sweden) 

13. Kganya Leshabela (Leicester City, England)         

14. Kobamelo Kodisang (Sporting Braga B, Portugal)

15. Gift Links (Aarhus, Denmark)     

16. Kamohelo Mahlatsi (Moroka Swallows FC)

17. Keletso Makgalwa (Mamelodi Sundowns, FC)

18. Grant Margeman (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

19. Kgaugelo Chauke (Southampton, England)

20. Sipho Mbule (Supersport United FC)

21. Happy Mashiane (Kaizer Chiefs FC)

22. Teboho Mokoena (Supersport United FC)

23. Nkosiphilile Ngcobo (Kaizer Chiefs FC)

24. Goodman Mosele (Baroka FC)  

25. Kgaogelo Sekota (Moroka Swallows FC)

26. Sithole Sphephelo (Belenenses, Portugal)

27. Ashley Du Preez (Stellenbosch FC)                          


28. Lyle Foster (Vitoria Guimaraes II, Portugal)                         

29. Zakhele Lepasa (Orlando Pirates FC)                                      

30. Fagrie Lakay (Cape Town City FC)                             

31. Evidence Makgopa (Baroka FC)                                

32. Luther Singh (Pacos de Ferreira, Portugal, loan)                

33. Siyabonga Ligendza (Cardiff City U18, England)


1. Percy Tau (Brighton & Hove Albion, England)

2. Ronwen Williams (Supersport United FC)                        

3. Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)                                      

4. Mosa Lebusa (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)                                          

5. Ricardo Goss (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)                                           

6. Mothobi Mvala (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)                                      

7. Thapelo Morena (Mamelodi Sundowns FC) 

iDiski Times
iDiski Times
iDiski Times is one of the fastest-growing football brands in South Africa. Boasting a free weekly newspaper as well as a 24/7 news website with top breaking news in the PSL (DStv Premiership, Motsepe Foundation Championship), women's football and all other major tournaments in South Africa and abroad.