Connect with us


Tshakhuma Are Nedbank Cup Champions!

Limpopo’s Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila are the Nedbank Cup champions after beating Chippa United 1-0 at the Free State Stadium on Saturday evening.

Its a first ever cup win for TTM, who bought the Bidvest Wits franchise at the end of last season, who also now qualify for the CAF Confederation Cup next season.

Tshakhuma 1-0 Chippa United

The early minutes of the game belonged to Tshakhuma, who showed attacking intent, but while their build up play was good, they weren’t able to get clear cut opportunities.

The first genuine shot at goal would only come in the 25th minute, but Thabo Mnyamane’s long range effort was off target.

Two minutes later they were in the lead, Ndabayithethwa Ndlondlo’s deflected effort off Frederic Nsabiyumva’s head flew into the goal, giving Rashid Watenga no chance. 

Thabiso Lebitso went close for Chippa in the 36th minute, but  his attempt from right of goal flew into the side-netting.

Just before halftime Celimpilo Ngema tried a shot from an acute angle, but Watenga was able to get down at his near post and deflect it out. 

At halftime it was advantage for Dylan Kerr’s team, as they led deservedly led 1-0 at the break.

Lerato Lamola had a glorious chance just over a minute into the second half, after being set up well by Thabo Rakhale though, the Tshakhuma forward shot straight at Watenga.

Ngema tried to catch Watenga out in the 55th minute, with the Ugandan out of position after clearing a ball straight to the diminutive midfielder, but the Chippa goalkeeper was able to get a touch on the shot and it went over.

Anthony Laffor’s first touch of the ball after coming on as a substitute in the 76th minute was on target, but it failed to trouble Washington Arubi.

TTM substitute Brandon Theron went close to wrapping it up in the 84th minute, but after a good run, his final attempt was off target.

Watenga pulled off a good save to deny Mnyamane the cushion goal in the 88th minute, while Ndlondlo’s effort in stoppage time was deflected out.

Victory for Kerr and TTM, as they take the cup for 2020/2021.