Saturday, December 9, 2023
HomeMTN8MTN8 Team Of The Tournament Announced

MTN8 Team Of The Tournament Announced

MTN have announced the official MTN8 Team of the Tournament after Orlando Pirates claimed the first silverware of the domestic 2023/24 season.

The Buccaneers beat Mamelodi Sundowns 3-1 on penalties in the final after the game had ended 0-0 after 120 minutes.

Jose Riveiro’s men defended their title from last season, thanks to Sipho Chaine saving three Masandawana spot-kicks in the shootout.

As a consequence, Chaine was named in the MTN8 Team of the Tournament, as voted for by fans.

Chaine is joined by his teammates Thapelo Xoki, Deon Hotto, Thabang Monara and Zakhele Lepasa – the competition’s top goalscorer.

Meanwhile, Patrick Maswanganyi, who had the most assists in the MTN8 this season (three), was not selected.

Runners-up, Sundowns had five representatives in the Team of the Tournament, with Khuliso Mudau, Mothobi Mvala, Marcelo Allende, Themba Zwane and Peter Shalulile also getting the nod from fans.

Kaizer Chiefs midfielder Edson Castillo was the only player in the selection, who doesn’t come from either of the two finalists.

Full MTN8 Team of the Tournament below:

David Kappel
David Kappel
David Kappel has served as a renowned international editor and content manager for almost a decade. David specialises in ensuring content and social media posts are highly engaging for football fans and was previously the international editor at Soccer Laduma. He is currently the iDiski Times website editor and social strategist.