Wednesday, June 12, 2024
HomeAfrican FootballAll CAF Awards Winners Revealed

All CAF Awards Winners Revealed

The prestigious CAF awards took place in Rabat, Morocco Thursday evening, with Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies and Desiree Ellis winning accolades for South Africa.

The prestigious event returned for a the first time since 2019 after not taking place over the last three years.

Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies were named Women’s Club of the Year after winning the inaugural CAF Champions League, but Downs duo Andile Dlamini and Bambanani Mbanie lost out to Evelyn Badu in the CAF Women’s Interclub Player of the Year category.

Wydad Athletic Club won the CAF Men’s Club of the Year, while Senegal were named National Team of the Year after lifting the 2021 AFCON.

Meanwhile, the inaugural CAF Goal of the Year was won by Pape Ousmane Sakho, whose brilliant bicycle kick for Simba SC beat Gabadinho Mhango’s stunner for Malawi.

Desiree Ellis was named Women’s Coach of the Year for her brilliant exploits with Banyana Banyana, leading to their second successive FIFA Women’s World Cup and into the WAFCON final. Ellis has now won the accolade in three successive editions of the CAF awards after already being named Coach of the Year in 2018 and 2019.


Club of the Year (Women)

  • Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

Club of the Year (Men) 

  • Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)

  • Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men) 

  • Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly)

Get unlimited, fast 5G home wifi. Delivered to you fast from

Young Player of the Year (Women) 

  • Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)

Young Player of the Year (Men) 

  • Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Tottenham Hotspur)

National Team of the Year (Men)

  • Senegal

National Team of the Year (Women) 

“Due to the absence of a major women’s competition during the period under review, the Organising Team for the CAF Awards 2022 has reviewed the selection process for this important category. The TotalEnergies Women’s Africa Cup of Nations Morocco will be factored as one of the criterion in deciding a winner befitting of the status of the award and women’s football in general. The winner will be announced on 23 July 2022 during the final match of the Women’s AFCON,” CAF had already announced.

Goal of the Year

  • Pape Ousmane Sakho (Senegal & Simba)

Coach of the Year (Women) 

  • Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Coach of the Year (Men)

  • Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

Player of the Year (Women)

  • Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona)

Player of the Year (Men) 

  • Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich)

All CAF Awards Winners Revealed

iDiski Times
iDiski Times
iDiski Times is one of the fastest-growing football brands in South Africa. Boasting a free weekly newspaper as well as a 24/7 news website with top breaking news in the PSL (DStv Premiership, Motsepe Foundation Championship), women's football and all other major tournaments in South Africa and abroad.