Thursday, April 18, 2024
HomeLocalSpurs Crowned 2024 Bayhill Premier Cup Champions

Spurs Crowned 2024 Bayhill Premier Cup Champions

Cape Town Spurs are the 2024 Bayhill Premier Cup champions after beating FN Rangers 4-1 in the final on Monday afternoon.

It was an exciting final between the two Cape Town outfits, in front of 15000 cheering fans in the stadium.

And it was Spurs who struck first blood after Asekho Gqabaza was brought down in the box in the 22nd minute. Spurs captain Denzel Du Plessis stepped up to take the spot kick and made no mistake.

But on the half-hour mark FN Rangers were awarded a penalty but Ethan Engel saved Tashreeq Dollie’s shot.

Two minutes into the second half Spurs doubled their lead as Jenairho Brock headed in from close range after Faiz Abrahams’ free kick was well saved.

Spurs made it 3-0 in the 55th minute when Jeandre Gaffoor fired into the bottom corner from just outside the area.

Rangers pulled one in the 61st minute through Matiyash Domingos as he ran onto a long and fired last Engel.

Faiz Abrahams wrapped up the result when he scored Spurs fourth in the 77th minute.

Buhle Majavu of Mamelodi Sundowns was named Player of the Series, while Spurs forward Shaakir ‘Mo’ Solomons won the golden boot for his five goals.

Earlier in the day two other Cape teams won their finals as Young Bafana won the Mid Section title, as they beat FC Porto 3-1, while Bayhill United won the Bruyns Plate Section after beating KwaZulu-Natla’s Shayamoya Academy in a penalty shootout after a 1-1 draw.

Rob Delport
Rob Delport
Rob Delport is a walking football encyclopedia, having been a mainstay in the Cape Town football scene for years. Rob has previously worked for SABC and various websites and publications across Africa, as well as being the South African Head Researcher for Football Manager and doing a similar role occasionally for EA Sports FIFA. Highly respected, Rob is now a senior iDiski Times website and newspaper writer, and is also responsible for the newspaper's editorial.