8 Glad Africa Teams Re-Instated Into Nedbank Cup

January 14, 2021
Nedbank Cup

There will be no ABC Motsepe or SAB teams in this season’s Nedbank Cup after the PSL confirmed that SAFA will be unable to send 8 teams to the last 32 round of the competition.

The PSL announced this in a statement released on Thursday.

This means that the 8 Glad Africa Championship teams who were knocked out in the qualifying round will return to the competition for the round of 32 draw later today.

The statement read:

“The South African Football Association have apologised to the PSL and indicated that the association will not able to provide eight teams to participate in this season’s Nedbank Cup due to the fact that non-professional football is not continuing to Covid-19.”

“SAFA has wished the PSL ‘good luck’ for the competition.”

“The PSL has discussed the matter with Nedbank and agreed that the only appropriate way to deal with the matter is to restore the eight Glad Africa Championship teams recently knocked out in the qualification competition to the Nedbank Cup.”

“The 2020/21 Nedbank Cup will consequently proceed with 32 teams, being 16 DStv Premiership and 16 Glad Africa Championship teams. All these participating teams will be a part of this evening’s draw.”

Free iDiski Times

Trending News

More News