Tuesday, April 16, 2024
spot_img
HomeNedbank CupWrong Call! Ncobo Assesses Critical Decisions In Chiefs' NBC Exit

Wrong Call! Ncobo Assesses Critical Decisions In Chiefs’ NBC Exit

Former FIFA referee Ace Ncobo has questioned whether Milford FC’s red card against Kaizer Chiefs was correct and also explained why Bruce Bvuma’s saved penalty was retaken.

Record champions Chiefs were knocked out of the Ke Yona Cup by giant killers Milford FC, who defeated Amakhosi 5-4 on penalties after Edson Castillo missed his spot-kick.

There were two-much debated scenes in the clash, the first one being the sending off of Vusumuzi Mthabela in the 111th minute for an a foul on Pule Mmodi.

Ncobo argued that it was the wrong decision by the match official, because the incident took place inside the box and should’ve resulted in another Chiefs penalty, but also questioned whether the Milfolrd player really fouled Mmoid or whether it was the other way around.

Image credit: SuperSport TV

“Where did that incident happen? The point of contact takes place inside the box,” he said on Extra-Time.

“If you are finding that the player in red kicked the player in yellow and you’re even showing him a red card, then put the ball where it’s supposed to be – look at where the incident happened, inside the box clearly.

“But, who kicked who? The player in red goes in, trying to kick the ball, he misses the ball, he gets fouled by the Kaizer Chiefs player. Instead of getting a free-kick in his favour, he gets a second yellow card.

“Incorrect decision on who fouled who. If you decide the red player kicked the Chiefs players, give a penalty because it’s inside the penalty area.”

Image credit: SuperSport TV

Ncobo then cast his attention on Bvuma’s saved penalty which was ruled to be retaken because the Chiefs goalkeeper had both feet off his line, explaining why it was the right call.

“The rule is very clear, the goalkeeper stands on the line in between the goalposts, he must watch the kicker. He can’t leave the line with both feet until the ball moves,” he added.

“That’s why he’s got a trailing leg, but the momentum of going forward carries even that trailing leg away from the line.

“What makes it really critical is that the assistant referee needs to have a wide vision to say ‘I’m looking at both the kicker and the goalkeeper’ because he’s got to catch that moment when the ball moves.

- Advertisement -

“In that moment, one foot needs to be on the line. When he sees daylight in between the leg and the line, he raises his flag and says retake.”

iDiski Times
iDiski Timeshttps://www.idiskitimes.co.za/
iDiski Times is one of the fastest-growing football brands in South Africa. Boasting a free weekly newspaper as well as a 24/7 news website with top breaking news in the PSL (DStv Premiership, Motsepe Foundation Championship), women's football and all other major tournaments in South Africa and abroad.
TRENDING

RELATED ARTICLES