Monday, July 15, 2024
HomeDStv PremiershipDowns Dominate 10 Highest-Valued PSL Players, Only One Bucs Star & No...

Downs Dominate 10 Highest-Valued PSL Players, Only One Bucs Star & No Chiefs

DStv Premiership champions Mamelodi Sundowns once again dominate the market values in the Premier Soccer League, with seven players in the top 10.

The Brazilians completed an unprecedented seventh league title in a row and extended their South African record number of domestic championships to 17 at the end of the 2023/24 campaign in May.

Masandawana’s midfield kingpin Teboho Mokoena occupies first position after his new market value spiked by €300,000 to €2.4 million. Marcello Allende comes in at joint-first, also at €2.4 million, though his value only increased by €100,000.

Attacking duo, Peter Shalulile and Matias Esquivel, are at spots number three and four, respectively, with a value of €2.0 million having both experienced a decrease of -€200,000, while Lucas Ribeiro also from Sundowns, and in fifth place, has seen his value rise to €1.8 million, having peaked by a massive €600,000.

It’s no surprise to see Stellenbosch FC striker Iqraam Rayners in the mix and at number six after a stellar season with the Cape Winelands side. The Bafana Bafana striker’s value increased by €500,000 and now stands at €1.8 million.

Position number seven is Tashreeq Matthews who joined Sundowns during the January transfer window. His value remains unchanged at €1.8 million, while his teammate in eighth place Aubrey Modiba’s value increased by €200,000 to €1.6 million.

Patrick Maswanganyi, the most nominated player at this year’s end-of-the-season PSL awards, is the only representative from league runners-up Orlando Pirates, and comes in at spot number nine. Despite his market value only being €1.4 million, ‘Tito’ experienced the biggest jump with €650,000.

Cape Town City frontman Khanyisa Mayo completes the list, coming in at the number 10 spot with an increase of €200,000 to €1.4 million.

Detailed list of the top market values in the DStv Premiership:

  1. Teboho Mokoena (Mamelodi Sundowns) — €2.4 million
  2. Marcelo Allende (Mamelodi Sundowns) — €2.4 million
  3. Matias Esquivel (Mamelodi Sundowns) — €2.0 million
  4. Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns) — €2.0 million
  5. Lucas Ribeiro (Mamelodi Sundowns) — €1.8 million
  6. Iqraam Rayners (Stellenbosch FC) — €1.8 million
  7. Tashreeq Matthews (Mamelodi Sundowns) — €1.8 million
  8. Aubrey Modiba (Mamelodi Sundowns) — €1.6 million
  9. Patrick Maswanganyi (Orlando Pirates) — €1.4 million
  10. Khanyisa Mayo (Cape Town City) — €1.4 million
iDiski Times
iDiski Times
iDiski Times is one of the fastest-growing football brands in South Africa. Boasting a free weekly newspaper as well as a 24/7 news website with top breaking news in the PSL (DStv Premiership, Motsepe Foundation Championship), women's football and all other major tournaments in South Africa and abroad.