Sunday, June 23, 2024
HomeDStv PremiershipRiveiro Hails Golden Boot Winner Mabasa

Riveiro Hails Golden Boot Winner Mabasa

Orlando Pirates head coach Jose Riveiro lavished praise on Tshegofatso Mabasa after he won the Lesley Manyathela Golden Boot award.

Mabasa, 27, scored six goals in 13 games during the first half of the league season for Moroka Swallows before returning to Pirates amidst the club’s financial woes.

He made the most of his chances with Evidence Makgopa suffering an injury and went on to score 10 league goals in 13 appearances, and pip Iqraam Rayners by one goal to the Golden Boot honour.

ALSO READ: Riveiro Thrilled As Pirates Secure CAFCL Spot Ahead Of Stellies

Rulani praises Riveiro ahead of Nedbank Cup final

“Absolutely [it’s been incredible], Mabasa means much more than goals, I’ve said this several times, he had a really good impact in the group [since returning from Swallows], contribution in every moment of the games,” Riveiro said.

“[He helped] in defending, attacking, set-pieces, he was a very important player for us in the second part of the season, always available for selection, and he’s getting the rewards of the hard work he was putting in the other half of the season at Swallows.

“So overall, very good season for him and hopefully he can replicate that type of performances in the future for us here at Pirates.”

Mabasa will be aiming to continue his impressive form in the final game of the domestic season when Pirates take on Mamelodi Sundowns in the Nedbank Cup final on 1 June.

Lorenz Kohler
Lorenz Kohler
Lorenz Köhler is an award-winning South African football journalist. Having cut his teeth in the industry working at Kick-Off Magazine, he is now iDiski Times' senior digital content writer. He specialises in breaking top African football stories and transfers with a major focus on the 'big-three' Mamelodi Sundowns, Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates and CAF inter-club and international competitions. In 2021 he was listed amongst the top-five journalists under 30 in Print Media for the AIPS Awards.