Wednesday, June 12, 2024
HomeDStv PremiershipSundowns & CT City Starting XIs Confirmed

Sundowns & CT City Starting XIs Confirmed

Mamelodi Sundowns and Cape Town City have announced their starting line-ups for today’s DStv Premiership clash at Loftus Stadium.

Sundowns are chasing an Invincibles season to become the first team in the history of Premier Soccer League to do so.

Masandawana already broke the record of points which was held by Pitso Mosimane’s side in 2015/16 season.

Rulani Mokwena and his side were confirmed as the league champions with eight games remaining. Mokwena choose the line-up with one eye looking at Nedbank Cup final against Orlando Pirates.

City confirmed their top eight finish last weekend when they beat Richards Bay 3-1 at home. The Cape Town-based side will look to finish the season on a high note after holding Sundowns with a goalless draw in December.

The last time Sundowns lost a league match against City away from home was in 2017 losing 1-0. They will look to avoid that to reach their dream of invincible.

Here is how they line up:

Sundowns XI: Williams, Mudau, Lebusa, Mvala, Zungu, Coetzee, Maboe, Zwane, Matthews, Mabena, Morena

Subs: D. Onyango, Lunga, Mdunyelwa, Mokoena, Mbule, Mendieta, Maema, Esquivel, Ribeiro

CT City XI: Keet, Cupido, Gordinho, Slatsha, Sereetsi, Rhodes, Fisher, Leshabela, Nyama, Mayo, Gonzalez

Subs: Mpandle, Mokhuoane, Sifumba, Tshimanga, Pacienca, Daniels, April, Ahshene, Dondolo

Sinethemba Makonco
Sinethemba Makonco
Sinethemba Makonco is one of South Africa's brightest up-and-coming football journalists. Makonco shot to prominence on social media as a reliable source for South African football news and transfer stories, and is currently working as a junior journalist at iDiski Times.