Saturday, June 22, 2024
HomeNedbank CupShabba & Stiga Pick Downs & Pirates Combined XI

Shabba & Stiga Pick Downs & Pirates Combined XI

Former Kaizer Chiefs duo Siphiwe Shabalala and Stanton Fredericks have selected their Combined XI from Mamelodi Sundowns and Orlando Pirates ahead of the Nedbank Cup final between the two PSL giants.

Winning the prestigious Nedbank Cup is one of the ultimate achievements for South African football players. The feat is so coveted that two legends of the game, Siphiwe ‘Shabba’ Tshabalala and Stanton ‘Stiga’ Fredericks, regard the trophy as the pinnacle of domestic knockout success.

Pirates and Sundowns renew their rivalry once again when they lock horns in another final after the Buccaneers ran out 3-1 victors in the penalty shootout to claim the MTN8 trophy in October 2023.

The 2024 Nedbank Cup final will be staged at Mbombela Stadium in Mpumalanga Province on June 1.

Here is Shabba and Stiga’s Combined XI: (from both side’s treble-winning squads)

Goalkeeper: Senzo Meyiwa (Pirates)
In his illustrious tenure with Pirates, the late Senzo Meyiwa was renowned for his heroic saves and leadership qualities. Meyiwa helped Pirates to 2 Nedbank Cup triumphs in 2011 and 2014, etching his name in history. His legacy still lives on.

Right-back: Khuliso Mudau (Sundowns)
A mainstay of Masandawana, Khuliso Mudau, is a symbol of raw talent and patience. Known for his versatility and skill, Mudau has been a key figure in the success of Sundowns over the past 2 seasons – particularly in domestic competitions where his impact has been immense. His contributions have solidified his status as a Bafana Bafana stalwart.

WATCH: Shabba & Stigga pick their Combined XI, part 1

Centre-back: Lucky Lekgwathi (Pirates)
Lucky Lekgwathi, a beacon of resilience and leadership, led Pirates to numerous triumphs, including memorable victories in the Nedbank Cup 2011 and 2014 seasons. His defensive prowess contributed to the success of Pirates, earning him admiration and respect.

Centre-back: Happy Jele (Pirates)
Happy Jele, a defensive stalwart for Pirates, epitomises consistency and dedication. Throughout his career Jele has been a key figure in the success of Pirates. He contributed to 2 Nedbank Cup titles for the club and played over 400 games across all competitions.

Left-back: Lyle Lakay (Sundowns)
Lyle Lakay’s time at Sundowns was defined by his impactful performances. Being such a versatile player, Lakay played a crucial role in the success of Sundowns in the 2022 Nedbank Cup, contributing to the memorable victory and leaving a lasting legacy in South African football. He could add another title this season with his new team, SuperSport United.

Central midfielders: Andile Jali and Oupa Manyisa (both Orlando Pirates)
Andile Jali and Oupa Manyisa formed a legendary midfield duo for Pirates, dominating South African football. As a duo, they won multiple titles and lifted the Nedbank Cup, triumphing in 2011. Manyisa played for the winning team again in 2014. Their partnership is celebrated as defining a golden era in Pirates’ history.

Right wing: Gastón Sirino (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Gastón Sirino has been a standout performer for Sundowns for 6 seasons now, dazzling fans with his skill and creativity on the field. Sirino played a crucial role in Sundowns’ 2020 Nedbank Cup winning season, scoring the winning goal against Bloemfontein Celtic in the final match. He lifted the trophy again 2 years later. His dynamic displays and ability to unlock defences continue to make him a fan favourite.

Left wing: Tlou Segolela (Pirates)
Tlou Segolela was a dynamic force for Pirates, known for his blistering pace and flair on the pitch. His contributions were instrumental in the Soweto giant’s triumphant treble-winning season in 2011, which included securing the Nedbank Cup title.

Forward: Ndumiso Mabena (Pirates)
Ndumiso Mabena will always be revered by the Pirates faithful as he was part of their 2011 and 2014 Nedbank Cup wins before he left the club for successful spells elsewhere, only to return in 2023 and watch the side lift the trophy for a 3rd time.

Forward: Peter Shalulile (Sundowns)
Sha-Sha! The Namibian goal-scoring machine, Peter Shalulile, has been consistently prolific for Sundowns and is not only the club’s joint top-scorer in the Nedbank Cup, but also the all-time leading marksman since 2008 with 14 goals, 3 of them in the colours of Highlands Park.

WATCH: Shabba & Stigga pick their Combined XI, part 2

iDiski Times
iDiski Times
iDiski Times is one of the fastest-growing football brands in South Africa. Boasting a free weekly newspaper as well as a 24/7 news website with top breaking news in the PSL (DStv Premiership, Motsepe Foundation Championship), women's football and all other major tournaments in South Africa and abroad.