Wednesday, July 24, 2024
HomeNedbank CupSundowns & Maritzburg Starting XIs Announced

Sundowns & Maritzburg Starting XIs Announced

Mamelodi Sundowns and Maritzburg United have announced their starting line-ups for this evening’s Nedbank Cup clash at Lucas Moripe Stadium.

Masandawana will play their third game in two weeks, as the Tshwane giants welcome the KwaZulu Natal based side in a tricky Nedbank Cup Round of 16 before the international break.

Sundowns will aim to reach Nedbank Cup quarter-final for a fifth consecutive season. Rulani Mokwena’s side has never lost to lower division side in this tournament.

The eliminated NB La Masia 6-1 to get to this stage, while the KwaZulu-Natal based side eliminated fourth division side Paarl United.

Maritzburg got eliminated in the Last 32 of the Nedbank Cup last year when they were knocked out by Kaizer Chiefs.

These two sides faced each other 38 times, Sundowns won 22, nine matches ended in draws, while United have won sven times.

Here is hiw they line up:

Sundowns XI: D. Onyango, Mudau, Lunga, Lebusa, Zungu, Aubaas, Maboe, Allende, Esquivel, Lorch, Sirino

Subs: Pieterse, Mvala, Coetzee, Mashego, Mkulise, Mbule, Lethlaku, Morena, Shalulile

Maritzburg Utd XI: Msibi, Madonsela, Slawula, Ncanana, Mzuza, Musaka, Chingi, Sithole, Khumalo, Van der Ross, Kamatuka

Subs: Mtshali, Kewuti, Conco, Hlongwa, Mbindana, Gaxa, Zondi, Nkosi, Niang

Sinethemba Makonco
Sinethemba Makonco
Sinethemba Makonco is one of South Africa's brightest up-and-coming football journalists. Makonco shot to prominence on social media as a reliable source for South African football news and transfer stories, and is currently working as a junior journalist at iDiski Times.