Wednesday, June 12, 2024
HomeNedbank CupSundowns & Pirates XI Confirmed

Sundowns & Pirates XI Confirmed

Mamelodi Sundowns and Orlando Pirates have announced their starting line-up for this afternoon’s Nedbank Cup final in Mbombela.

Sundowns look to complete a treble this season after winning the African Football League earlier this season and winning the DStv Premiership league title a few weeks ago.

On paper Downs’ route to the final has been easy knocking out three Motsepe Foundation Championship sides NB La Masia, Maritzburg United, and AmaTuks before facing Stellenbosch in the semi-finals.

Pirates on the other side have a chance to complete a trophy double after winning MTN8 early in the season defeating Sundowns in the final.

The Buccaneers eliminated third-tier side Crystal Lake, then Motsepe Foundation Championship side Hungry Lions before booting out two DStv Premiership sides AmaZulu and Chippa United to reach the final.

This is the fourth time these two sides face each other this season.

Sundowns won the first round of the league 1-0, the Pirates won the MTN8 final via penalties and the last match ended with a 1-1 draw.

The fixture kicks off at 15h00 at Mbombela Stadium.

Here is how they line up:

Sundowns XI:

Williams, Mudau, Kekana, Lebusa, Modiba, Zungu, Mokoena, Aubaas, Allende, Zwane, Ribeiro.

Subs: Onyango, Lunga, Morena, Mkhulise, Mbule, Mendieta, Maema, Esquive;, Matthews.

Pirates XI:

Chaine, Ndah, Maela, Sesane, Monyane, Makhaula, Hotto, Mbatha, Maswanganyi, Saleng, Makgopa

Subs: Buthelezi, Sibisi, Lepasa, Dlamini, Mabasa, Baloni, Lebitso, Mofokeng, Mthethwa.

PS. Don’t forget to join today’s #NedbankCup space during the game:

Sinethemba Makonco
Sinethemba Makonco
Sinethemba Makonco is one of South Africa's brightest up-and-coming football journalists. Makonco shot to prominence on social media as a reliable source for South African football news and transfer stories, and is currently working as a junior journalist at iDiski Times.