Sunday, May 26, 2024
HomeInternationalBroos & Williams' The Best Awards Votes Revealed

Broos & Williams’ The Best Awards Votes Revealed

Bafana Bafana coach Hugo Broos and captain Ronwen Williams have voted for South Africa in The Best FIFA awards and there votes have been revealed.

Lionel Messi won the main award on the night, being named The Best FIFA Men’s Player of 2022 – clinching a record-extending seventh World Player of the Year title.

Meanwhile, his Argentina coach Lionel Scaloni was named The Best FIFA Men’s Coach of the Year.

The duo were also the favourite of both Broos and Williams after their votes were made public by FIFA.

Broos voted for Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe and Karim Benzema, who ended up in the top three in that order, too.

Similar, Ronwen Williams also picked the top three that ended up with the most votes, namely: Messi, Mbappe and Benzema.

Overall, Messi received 52 scoring points, Mbappe 44 and Benzema 34.

In the The Best men’s Coach of the Year ranking, Broos chose Didier Deschamps, Carlo Ancelotti and Pep Guardiola – snubbing eventual winner Scaloni.

Williams, meanwhile, picked the Argentina boss as his number one, Ancelotti in second and Guardiola in third.

Overall, Scaloni picked up 28 points, Ancelotti 17 and Guardiola just 12.

How does the voting work?

The winners of The Best FIFA Men’s Player, The Best FIFA Men’s Coach and The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper Awards will be selected by an international jury comprising the current coaches of all men’s national teams (one per team), the current captains of all men’s national teams (one per team), one specialist journalist from each territory represented by a national team and fans from all over the world registered on

- Advertisement -

Each member of the jury will be requested to nominate, in decreasing order of merit, the three players, three coaches and three goalkeepers whom, in accordance with the criteria set out in articles 2 and 3 above, they consider most deserving of the respective Award.

The three players, three coaches and three goalkeepers nominated by each jury member will receive five points, three points or one point respectively, depending on whether the jury member places the player, coach or goalkeeper first (five points), second (three points) or third (one point).

Once all of the scoring points for each nominee have been determined for each of the four groups of voters, these scoring points will be added up to give all nominees a final score that will determine their overall final position. The Award will be bestowed upon the player, coach or goalkeeper who receives the highest final score.

David Kappel
David Kappel
David Kappel has served as a renowned international editor and content manager for almost a decade. David specialises in ensuring content and social media posts are highly engaging for football fans and was previously the international editor at Soccer Laduma. He is currently the iDiski Times website editor and social strategist.