Connect with us


Official: Germany Announce Euro Squad

Joachim Low has announced his 26-man Germany squad for the upcoming 2020 UEFA European Championship, recalling Thomas Muller and Mats Hummels, whom he had cut from the national team in 2019.

The 61-year-old will lead Die Mannschaft into his fourth Euro, having reached the semi-finals in all three previous editions, but failing to lift the title.

Low, who had already announced that he will leave his role as Germany coach after the tournament, has gone back on his own decision to demote Muller and Hummels.

“They played a strong season so we brought them back,” he said, during a press conference on Wednesday.

“They can contribute to the team in terms of leadership. They know our way of thinking and a big part of the team. 

“We made the decision back then because we wanted to give the boys the chance to develop.

“When you take them with you, it’s clear that you are expecting certain things. 

“They’re players we’re counting on. A starting spot guarantee for an entire tournament cannot be given. But of course they play an essential role in our plans.”

However, Jerome Boateng, the third player who Low had cut in 2019, did not make the 26-man squad, while Marco Reus had ruled himself out of the tournament.

Here is the Germany squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Bernd Leno (Arsenal), Manuel Neuer (FC Bayern), Kevin Trapp (Eintracht Frankfurt)

Defenders: Matthias Ginter (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Robin Gosens (Atalanta), Christian Günter (SC Freiburg), Marcel Halstenberg (RB Leipzig), Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), Lukas Klostermann (RB Leipzig), Robin Koch (Leeds United), Antonio Rüdiger (Chelsea), Niklas Süle (FC Bayern)

Midfielders/Attackers: Emre Can (Borussia Dortmund), Serge Gnabry, Leon Goretzka (both FC Bayern), Ilkay Gündogan (Manchester City), Kai Havertz (Chelsea), Jonas Hofmann (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Joshua Kimmich (FC Bayern), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Thomas Müller, Jamal Musiala (both FC Bayern), Florian Neuhaus (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Leroy Sané (FC Bayern), Kevin Volland (AS Monaco), Timo Werner (Chelsea)



Latest News

Get iDiski Times On Magzter

Live Scores