Tuesday, April 16, 2024
HomeBanyana BanyanaDludlu To Lead Banyana At COSAFA Cup, Calls Up New-Look Squad

Dludlu To Lead Banyana At COSAFA Cup, Calls Up New-Look Squad

Simphiwe Dludlu will lead Women’s Africa Cup of Nations champions, Banyana Banyana at the COSAFA Women’s Championship and has called up a new-look squad for the tournament.

The South African Football Association confirmed on Tuesday that Dludlu will lead the squad during the tournament scheduled to take place between 31 August and 11 September in Port Elizabeth, while “Desiree Ellis and her regulars “have other commitments elsewhere”.

Dludlu, meanwhile, expressed her honour to take the reigns in Ellis’ absence, saying she will help the CAF African Women’s Coach of the Year to broaden the talent pool ahead of the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

“This is a very big opportunity afforded to me by the Association and the best Coach in Africa, Desiree Ellis,” she told SAFA. 

“I am glad that I will get a platform to learn more while continuing to do the work I have done at U17 and U20 level, where we ensure that we have a big pool of players.

“I will be assisting Coach Desiree in expanding the pool of players for Banyana Banyana as they continue preparing for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

“I am excited for the players that we have selected, and the fact that these players will get to play against quality players within the COSAFA region.

“At the moment our region is excelling with two countries going to the FIFA Women’s World Cup. We have two clubs going to represent the region at the CAF Champions League, and this is a right time for us as South Africa to start introducing more players into Banyana Banyana.”

Banyana have been drawn into Group A alongside Angola, Mauritius and Mozambique, while Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia and Zambia will meet each other in Group B and reigning champions Tanzania will face Comoros, Botswana and Malawi in Group C.

- Advertisement -

Below is Dludlu’s Banyana squad:

1. Kebotseng MOLETSANE Bloemfontein Celtic (Free State)
2. Dineo MAGAGULA University of Johannesburg FC (Gauteng)
3. Tshidi MURUOA TUT FC (Gauteng)
4. Fikile MAGAMA UWC FC Cape (Western Cape)
5. Cimone SAULS JVW FC  (Gauteng)
6. Koketso TLAILANE TUT FC (Gauteng)
7. Nothando VILAKAZI TUT FC (Gauteng)
8. Tiisetso MAKHUBELA Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies (Gauteng)
9. Lonathemba MHLONGO UWC FC (Western Cape)
10. Thato LETSOSO TUT FC (Gauteng)
12. Jamie- Leigh WITBOOI CR Vasco Da Gama Ladies (Western Cape)
13. Mmabatho MOGALE TUKS/High Performance Centre (Gauteng)
14. Sphumelele SHAMASE University of Johannesburg FC (Gauteng)
15. Oratile MOKWENA Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies (Gauteng)
16. Nonhlanhla MTHANDI Mamelodi University Ladies (Gauteng)
17. Sinazo NTSHOTA City Lads Ladies (Eastern Cape)
18. Busisiwe NDIMENI TUT (Gauteng)
19. Lelona DAWETI Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies (Gauteng)
20. Zethembiso VILAKAZI Lindelani FC (KwaZulu Natal)
21. Michelle SAMPSON Richmond United Ladies (Northern Cape)
22. Amanda MKHIZE Durban Ladies (KwaZulu Natal)
23. Lithemba SAM Cape Town Roses (Western Cape)

iDiski Times
iDiski Timeshttps://www.idiskitimes.co.za/
iDiski Times is one of the fastest-growing football brands in South Africa. Boasting a free weekly newspaper as well as a 24/7 news website with top breaking news in the PSL (DStv Premiership, Motsepe Foundation Championship), women's football and all other major tournaments in South Africa and abroad.