Connect with us


Arrows & Sundowns Draw In First Leg

Golden Arrows and Mamelodi Sundowns drew 1-1 in today’s MTN8 semi-final first leg at a wet and windy Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium.

A long range effort from Nqobeko Dlamini gave the home team the lead in the 6th minute, the low show beating Denis Onyango.

It was almost two in the eleventh minute, but Saziso Magawana shot wide of goal, while three minutes later Sifiso Mlungwana made a good save to deny Peter Shalulile. Lindokuhle Mtshali, in his 50th game for Arrows forced a save out of Onyango in the 20th minute. 

Mlungwana had to make a save from a Lyle Lakay free kick in the 30th minute, and two minutes later Onyango had to be aware to stop a Nkosinathi Sibisi header.

While Sundowns dominated possession, it remained 1-0 to Arrows at the half-time break.

Sundowns came out pushing even harder in the second half, and Mlungwana made another save from a Lakay free kick in the 52nd minute. Magawana almost struck on the counter attack two minutes later, but Onyango pulled off a good save.

Kermit Erasmus went close in the 56th minute, but his shot was deflected wide, and from the resulting corner Grant Kekana missed from point blank range.

It was one-way traffic, and Thapelo Morena’s effort in the 65th minute was deflected wide, as despite Sundowns’ domination, Arrows held onto their lead. 

Mlungwana did well to deny substitute Pavol Safranko in the 76th with a good save from close range, and he was in action again from two resulting corners, tipping over. Two minutes later he got down well to stop a shot from Erasmus.

There was another save from the Arrows keeper, this time from long range effort from Rivaldo Coetzee in the 83rd minute, but he could do nothing to stop Safranko, who followed up after Mlungnwana was unable to hold onto a ball in from Sphelele Mkhulise. The pressure finally relenting, 1-1.

Gaston Sirino shot over in the 87th minute, while Andile Jali shot wide in stoppage time.

Arrows XI: Mlungwana, Zuke, Dube, Sibisi, Cele, Dlamini, Mtshali, Mmodi, Ndwandwe, Magawana, Gumede,

Sundowns XI: Onyango, Morena, Lakay, De Reuck, G.Kekana, Jali, Mkhulise, Coetzee, Sirino, Erasmus, Shalulile