Tuesday, July 23, 2024
HomeBanyana BanyanaBanyana Banyana Are Champions Of Africa!!

Banyana Banyana Are Champions Of Africa!!

Banyana Banyana are the 2022 WAFCON champions after beating Morocco 2-1 thanks to a Hildah Magaia brace in the final at Stade Prince Moulay Abdallah in Rabat on Saturday night!

For the first time in history, South Africa lift the WAFCON trophy as Desiree Ellis’s team went through the tournament with six wins in six games.

Both Banyana and Morocco, as well as third-placed Zambia and Nigeria have already qualified for next year’s FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand, while Senegal and Cameroon can still qualify via the inter-confederation playoffs.

CAF Women’s Coach of the Year Desiree Ellis made three changes to the team that beat Zambia in the semi-finals, bringing in Lebo Ramalepe, Nomvula Kgoale and Hildah Magaia for Bongeka Gamede, Thalea Smidt and Melinda Kgadiete.

It was an intense atmosphere as almost fifty thousand Moroccan fans packed into the stadium, with many more outside attempting to get in. But it was Banyana who started positively and Hildah Magaia was set up for a half chance by Jermaine Seoposenwe in the fourth minute, but her shot lacked power and was cleared off the line by Hanane Ait El Haj.

Magaia went on a dangerous run into the box in the 12th minute, but before she could get a shot off a great sliding tackle from El Haj rescued the situation.

Ellis’s team started to take control of the possession, silencing the packed stadium, except during a few rare Moroccan attacks, but neither team were creating too many chances in the final third. Nomvula Kgoale tried from range in the 33rd minute, but her set piece attempt from quite far out went just over Khadija Er-Rmichi’s goal.

Er-Rmichi came to Morocco’s rescue in the 36th minute, as Magaia ran onto a Seoposenwe through ball, while her follow-up effort was cleared off the line by Elchad Nesryne. Two minutes later Banyana had another chance from a free kick, Magaia’s effort from the set piece always going just wide.

Morocco finally got their first attempt at goal in the 41st minute, but Rosella Ayane’s shot went wide. At the break, while Banyana had the slight edge, the score remained goalless.

Get unlimited, fast 5G home wifi. Delivered to you fast from rain.co.za

Magaia made dangerous run down the left in the opening minute of the second half but Er-Rmichi was able to save her dangerous cross. Er-Rmichi saved by Seoposenwe in the 48th minute, after a good run by the Banyana forward.

The game was halted in the 55th minute when Zineb Redouani went down awkwardly and had to be stretchered off. But three minutes later action resumed.

Banyana grabbed the lead in the 62nd minute through Magaia, finishing off after a great setup by Seoposenwe. A fantastic long pass from Bambanani Mbane found Seoposenwe, who broke free down the left, kept on her feet to deliver the perfect square ball for Magaia to slot home.

And it was 2-0 ten minutes later, Magaia doing brilliantly to run onto a great deep cross from Karabo Dhlamini, before deftly chipping it past Er-Rmichi.

However it wasn’t over just yet, Morocco pulled a goal back in the 80th minute, and after a lapse of concentration, Morocco countered and an unmarked Ayane was able to slot in after being set up well by Fatima Tagnaout.

That goal brought the crowd back to life as they tried to inspire their team back into the game for a nervous final ten minutes of regulation time.

Ayane had a great chance with two minutes to go, but she was unable to get her shot off and Andile Dlamini was able to gather.

Nine minutes were astonishingly added on by the officials to add to the drama, but Banyana fought on despite some late pressure and held on for a historic first African title.

Banyana, who were officially named African Women’s National Team of the Year, were also awarded the Fair Play award, Andile Dlamini was named Goalkeeper of the Tournament, while the Woman of the Tournament went to Morocco’s captain  Ghizlane Chebbak.

Here is how the two teams started the game:

Morocco XI: Rmichi, El Chad, Mrabet, Redouani, Ait El Haj, Nakkach, Chebbak, Mssoudy, Saoud, Ayane, Tagnaoute

Banyana Banyana XI: Dlamini, Dhlamini, Ramalepe, Matlou, Mbane, Kgoale, Jane, Magaia, Cesane, Seoposenwe, Motlhalo

iDiski Times
iDiski Timeshttps://www.idiskitimes.co.za/
iDiski Times is one of the fastest-growing football brands in South Africa. Boasting a free weekly newspaper as well as a 24/7 news website with top breaking news in the PSL (DStv Premiership, Motsepe Foundation Championship), women's football and all other major tournaments in South Africa and abroad.