Thursday, February 22, 2024
HomeLocalPirates Thrash Downs To Book MTN8 Final Spot

Pirates Thrash Downs To Book MTN8 Final Spot

Orlando Pirates advanced to the final of the 2022 MTN8 after beating Mamelodi Sundowns 3-0 at the Peter Mokaba Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

In a highly anticipated second leg after the 0-0 first leg at Orlando Stadium at the start of the month, Pirates had the upper hand knowing they needed just score draw to advance.

And they got off to the best possible start when former Sundowns striker Kermit Erasmus headed home the opener as Monnapule Saleng skinned Aubrey Modiba to set him up in the six-yard area.

The Buccaneers who were without Richard Ofori through injury had Siyabonga Mpontshane in goals, and while it was a concern, he looked comfortable throughout as the defensively resolute Pirates kept Sundowns at bay, for all their superiority in possession on the day.

An absence for the home side, Peter Shalulile, was probably felt more as their lack of aggression and movement in attack proved to be one of the biggest factors of their inability to carve out clear-cut chances.

And Jose Riveiro’s men allowed them to have the ball in the second half as they needed to chase the game, with the comfort of knowing they needed two goals to advance to the final.

On the counter, they always posed a threat, and eight minutes from time the impressive Saleng put the final nail in the coffin, slotting the ball past a dejected Ronwen Williams while Sundowns ended the game with 10 men after Aubrey Modiba’s sending off late on for a second bookable offense. The winger went on to add a third in second-half stoppage time for a 3-0 scoreline.

The Soweto giants will now face the winner of the AmaZulu vs Kaizer Chiefs match set to be played out at the Moses Mabhida Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

- Advertisement -


iDiski Times
iDiski Times
iDiski Times is one of the fastest-growing football brands in South Africa. Boasting a free weekly newspaper as well as a 24/7 news website with top breaking news in the PSL (DStv Premiership, Motsepe Foundation Championship), women's football and all other major tournaments in South Africa and abroad.