Thursday, April 18, 2024
HomeMTN8The New MTN8 Trophy Unveiled

The New MTN8 Trophy Unveiled

The brand new trophy for the 2023 MTN8 has officially been unveiled after more than a decade of the previous silverware.

Back in 2008 when MTN took over the SAA sponsorship of the top-eight competition, the trophy was brought forward and within the MTN era, it’s been shared by 10 different clubs.

Orlando Pirates, the current holders have won it four times, while Kaizer Chiefs and SuperSport United won it twice.

Mamelodi Sundowns, Cape Town City, Bidvest Wits, Ajax Cape Town, Platinum Stars, Moroka Swallows and Golden Arrows are the others to have lifted it.

But a new dawn awaits for the tournament kicking off this weekend, and the trophy was unveiled today at the official launch in Randburg on Thursday morning.

MTN8 quarter-finals in full:


  • Mamelodi Sundowns vs Moroka Swallows (15h00)
  • Orlando Pirates vs Sekhukhune United (18h00)


  • Cape Town City vs Kaizer Chiefs (15h00)
  • SuperSport United vs Stellenbosch (18h00)
iDiski Times
iDiski Times
iDiski Times is one of the fastest-growing football brands in South Africa. Boasting a free weekly newspaper as well as a 24/7 news website with top breaking news in the PSL (DStv Premiership, Motsepe Foundation Championship), women's football and all other major tournaments in South Africa and abroad.