Saturday, July 13, 2024
HomeInternationalUEFA Awards Winners Announced

UEFA Awards Winners Announced

Erling Haaland was named UEFA Men’s Player of the Year, while Aitana Bonmati won the UEFA Women’s Player of the Year.

Haaland beat Lionel Messi and his teammate Kevin De Bruyne to the award after leading Manchester City to the treble, scoring 52 goals across all competition in his debut campaign.

The rest of the top 10:

  • 4) Ilkay Gündoğan
  • 5) Rodri
  • 6) Kylian Mbappe
  • 7) Luka Modric
  • 8) Marcelo Brozovic
  • 9) Declan Rice
  • 10) Alexis Mac Allister

The initial shortlist of players was selected by the UEFA technical study group based on their performance during the 2022/23 season at both club and national team level.

The top three nominees were then voted for by a jury composed of the coaches of the clubs which played in the group stages of the 2022/23 UEFA Champions League, UEFA Europa League and UEFA Europa Conference League, together with the coaches of the men’s national teams of UEFA’s member associations. A group of journalists selected by the European Sports Media (ESM) were also part of the jury.

Meanwhile, Pep Guardiola was named UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year after becoming the first manager to win a treble with two different clubs. The Spaniard guided City to the Premier League – his fifth in six years at City, the FA Cup and the Champions League.

He beat former Napoli coach Luciano Spalletti and Inter boss Simone Inzaghi to the award.

UEFA Women’s Player of the Year: Aitana Bonmati (Spain & Barcelona)

UEFA Women’s Coach of the Year: Sarina Wiegman (England)

UEFA President’s Award: Miroslav Klose

David Kappel
David Kappel
David Kappel has served as a renowned international editor and content manager for almost a decade. David specialises in ensuring content and social media posts are highly engaging for football fans and was previously the international editor at Soccer Laduma. He is currently the iDiski Times website editor and social strategist.