Connect with us


Broos Names Provisional Bafana Bafana Squad

Bafana Bafana coach Hugo Broos has named a 34-man provisional squad for the FIFA World Cup qualifiers against Ethiopia in October.

The Belgian started his reign with a goalless draw against Zimbabwe and a 1-0 victory over Ghana that saw South Africa climb to the top of their qualifying group.

However, they now face Ethiopia in a tricky double header to cement that status and keep their hopes of qualifying for the Qatar World Cup alive.

Broos again opted to select an initial squad, which will still be cut down ahead of the games. He had indicated that a few players would be dropped from his squad after not convincing and opted not to call up Chiefs duo Austin Dube and Sibusiso Mabiliso. In addition, Gift Links and Sipho Mbule were also not included, but the latter is believed to be injured.

Percy Tau, though, has been included despite his latest injury that has sidelined him for the last two weeks.

Full Bafana squad below:

GOALKEEPERS: Ronwen Williams (Supersport United FC) Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu FC) Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs FC) Sifiso Mlungwana (Golden Arrows FC)

DEFENDERS: Sydney Mobbie (Sekhukhune United FC) Thapelo Morena (Mamelodi Sundowns FC) Njabulo Blom (Kaizer Chiefs FC) Terrence Mashego (Cape Town City FC) Sifiso Hlanti (Kaizer Chiefs FC) Vusi Sibiya (Baroka FC) Rushine De Reuck (Mamelodi Sundowns FC) Siyanda Xulu (Hapoel Tel Aviv) Thibang Phete (Belenenses SAD) Njabulo Ngcobo (Kaizer Chiefs FC) Mosa Lebusa (Mamelodi Sundowns FC) Luke Fleurs (SuperSport United FC) Tercious Malepe (AmaZulu FC)

MIDFIELDERS: Thabani Zuke (Golden Arrows FC) Mothobi Mvala (Mamelodi Sundowns FC) Sphephelo Sithole (Belenenses FC) Yusurf Maart (Sekhukhune FC), Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United) Goodman Mosele (Orlando Pirates FC) Ethan Brooks (TS Galaxy FC) Jesse Donn (SuperSport United FC)

FORWARDS: Thabiso Kutumela (Mamelodi Sundowns FC) Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Maritzburg United FC) Evidence Makgopa (Baroka FC) Victor Letsoalo (Royal Am FC) Luther Singh (F.C Copenhagen), Percy Tau (Al Ahly FC ) Vincent Pule (Orlando Pirates FC) Mduduzi Mdantsane (Cape Town City FC) Tshegofatso Mabasa (Orlando Pirates FC)



Latest News

Get iDiski Times On Magzter

Live Scores