Tuesday, July 23, 2024
HomeDStv PremiershipMotaung Explains January Transfer Decision

Motaung Explains January Transfer Decision

Kaizer Chiefs have explained why the club opted not to add any further signings in the January window.

Chiefs were strongly linked with the likes of Victor Lestoalo, Sipho Mbule and Teboho Mokoena but refrained from any big-money signings with the latter heading to Mamelodi Sundowns.

And after securing seven first-team players onto new long-term contracts, Motaung Jnr has sought to clarify to fans with questions the decision-making at Amakhosi.

“We signed nine players at the start of the season, many of whom were called for by supporters, and they have added a lot of value to the team,” the club’s sporting director Kaizer Motaung Jnr. told the club’s website.

Kaizer Motaung Jnr during the DStv Premiership 2021/22 football match between Royal AM and Kaizer Chiefs at Chatsworth Stadium, Durban on 19 December 2021 ©Gavin Barker/BackpagePix

Football Manager Bobby Motaung went on to add; “This means we have a good balance in terms of contracts when you look at the nine and the seven we’ve just extended.

“We believe the squad will compete fiercely in the coming months so that we finish as high as possible on the log.

“The plan is to ensure that the coaching team should be able to plan adequately without worrying much about players’ movements.

“We will sit again at the end of the season to assess what we require so that we are ready in the new season because this is an on-going process.”

Lorenz Kohler
Lorenz Kohler
Lorenz Köhler is an award-winning South African football journalist. Having cut his teeth in the industry working at Kick-Off Magazine, he is now iDiski Times' senior digital content writer. He specialises in breaking top African football stories and transfers with a major focus on the 'big-three' Mamelodi Sundowns, Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates and CAF inter-club and international competitions. In 2021 he was listed amongst the top-five journalists under 30 in Print Media for the AIPS Awards.