Saturday, December 9, 2023
HomeAfrican FootballCAF Announce Super League Prize Money

CAF Announce Super League Prize Money

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) have announced the official prize money for the inaugural African Football League set to be kicked off next month in Tanzania.

The opening game between Caf Champions League winners Al Ahly and Simba SC in Dar es Salaam is scheduled for 20 October, as the eight-team competition begins.

The Prize Money for the AFL is as follows:

  • $4 000 000 for the Winner
  • $3 000 000 for the Runner-up
  • $1 700 000 for each of the Semi-finalists
  • $1 000 000 for each of the Quarter-finalists

Enyimba FC (Nigeria), Wydad AC (Morocco), Mamelodi Sundowns FC (South Africa), TP Mazembe (DR Congo), Espérance Sportive de Tunis (Tunisia) and Atlético Petróleos de Luanda (Angola).

However, there’s been reports surfacing that Masadnawana are considering withdrawing from the competition as the Premier Soccer League refused to accommodate the tournament and postpone the league by a further three weeks.

Lorenz Kohler
Lorenz Kohler
Lorenz Köhler is an award-winning South African football journalist. Having cut his teeth in the industry working at Kick-Off Magazine, he is now iDiski Times' senior digital content writer. He specialises in breaking top African football stories and transfers with a major focus on the 'big-three' Mamelodi Sundowns, Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates and CAF inter-club and international competitions. In 2021 he was listed amongst the top-five journalists under 30 in Print Media for the AIPS Awards.