Wednesday, June 19, 2024
HomeDStv PremiershipThe PSL Awards Voting And Nomination Procedures Clarified

The PSL Awards Voting And Nomination Procedures Clarified

The Premier Soccer League (PSL) have clarified the voting and nomination procedures for the 2024 Awards.

On Friday, from 10:00, the award nominees for the 2024 PSL Awards nominees were sporadically announced via official channels on social media.

It brought widespread debate, and discussions, as it usually does with varying opinions on performances and praise from supporters.

Amongst the questions was the inclusion of Teboho Mokoena as PSL Footballer of the Season, while not being nominated for Midfielder of the Season.

The Footballer of the Season category is voted and nominated by the 16 DStv Premiership head coaches – each coach was permitted to cast one vote and unable to vote for a player of their cub.

The DStv Premiership Player’s Player of the Season is decided by the players, all 16 clubs were handed 30 sheets, which means 30 players voted and were unable to vote for a teammate of the club.

The DStv Diski Challenge Player of the Season is nominated and decided by the DDC head coaches, only one head coach per club can vote and is prohibited from nominating or voting for their own player.

The Referee and Assistant Referee of the Season nominations were conducted by the SAFA National Referees Committee Panel.

All other categories for the words were decided by separate judging panels comprising of journalists, analysts and commentators.

All the names will be publicly disclosed after the PSL Awards ceremony.

ALSO READ: All 2024 PSL Awards nominees revealed

Young Player of the Season Criteria Revealed

Lorenz Kohler
Lorenz Kohler
Lorenz Köhler is an award-winning South African football journalist. Having cut his teeth in the industry working at Kick-Off Magazine, he is now iDiski Times' senior digital content writer. He specialises in breaking top African football stories and transfers with a major focus on the 'big-three' Mamelodi Sundowns, Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates and CAF inter-club and international competitions. In 2021 he was listed amongst the top-five journalists under 30 in Print Media for the AIPS Awards.