Connect with us


AmaZulu Announce Awards Winners

AmaZulu have announced the winners of their seasonal individual awards after the club finished in second place in the DStv Premiership.

Benni McCarthy and general manager Tshepiso Mofokeng announced the winners during a ceremony on Thursday.

Makhehlene Makhaula walked away with three awards after being named the AmaZulu MVP as well as Players’ Player of the Season before receiving the Presidents’ award.

Meanwhile, Lehlohonolo Majoro lifted the club’s Golden Boot, with McCarthy reserving some special praise for him: “I hope for Major that he continues in the path that he’s been doing, he is a good example.

“The professionalism that he shows in training, you can’t learn from a better master.

“Major is a good example for the young players to follow.”

Veli Mothwa, meanwhile, won the club’s Player of the Season award and was also named the Goalkeeper of the Season.

“When I walked through the door, I saw just a Veli Mothwa, now I see a formidable leader,” Mccarthy said.

“He became the Nr.1 Bafana keeper at the Cosafa Cup where he didn’t concede.”

Below are all awards’ winners:

Most Valuable Player: Makhehlene Makhaula 

Usuthu Spirit award: Siyathemba Sithebe

Most improved player: Tapelo Xoki

Top goalscorer: Lehlohonolo Majoro

Playmaker of the Year: Augustine Mulenga

Goalkeeper of the Year: Veli Mothwa

Players’ Player of the Season: Makhehlene Makhaula

MDC Player of the Season: Lindani Shango

MDC top goalscorer: Lindo Zungu

Presidents’ award: Makhehlene Makhaula 

Player of the Season: Veli Mothwa